Twitch Touchstrip Waveform Display...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Convert ZckBrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Sackville, NB, Canada
    Posts
    7

    Default Twitch Touchstrip Waveform Display...

    So I was thinking, on the drop mode of the touchstrip on Novation Twitch, wouldn't it be sweet to have a display of the waveform? You could see all of the different parts of the track, and it would be easier to decide where you wanted to drop into.

    There are 7 rows of LEDs on the touchstrip - that would probably be enough to display the waveform of a track (it would be low resolution, but it would still be cool .)

    Do you think this will ever happen?

  2. #2
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    i doubt itll happen (with the current generation hardware/ software)

    the newest pioneer cdjs do that on screen, but thats different.
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    That's something that future controllers are sure to have. But, I don't think technology has caught up to that point yet.
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

  4. #4
    Tech Convert ZckBrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Sackville, NB, Canada
    Posts
    7

    Default

    yeah, i figured as much.

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Two years before we see it mainstream another year for it to actually work.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    wait, you know what has the waveform on the controller already?

    this
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  7. #7
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    BANHAMMER AGAIN!

    The LEDs on the Twitch's touchstrip can only show a horizontal position, not height. They're on or off.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigC View Post
    That's something that future controllers are sure to have. But, I don't think technology has caught up to that point yet.
    Technology is actually FARRRR beyond this point. They might be working on it in the r&d areas getting the kinks and bug out.

    Also Stanton already has an allin1 digital dj controler with dj software built into it that you dont need a laptop for.
    /人◕‿‿◕人\
    --Its not the OS, It's the user--

  9. #9
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Current technology could handle it, but there's a difference between being able to do something and being able to make it profitable. There's no standard protocol like midi for sending waveforms over USB though a proprietary one could be developed by someone like NI who could then build compatability directly into Traktor. However, if they then made a controller similar to the S4 featuring big LCD screens for waveform display, the cost would most likely price it out of the market.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  10. #10
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    NI already output waveforms proprietarily to Maschine from the Maschine software - enable it for Traktor NI!
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •