Numark Mixdeck - Taking it to the Next level
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ventura County
    Posts
    11

    Default Numark Mixdeck - Taking it to the Next level

    I've been using my Numark Mixdeck for about 8months now and have succesfully DJed numerous weddings, sweet 16s, school functions, clubs, and what not. I have liked all the features EXCEPT...

    That when it comes to using Traktor (version that came with it) the performance really does not stand out. Only 4 louzy effects, no hot cues, no samples.... I can only do the basic mixing which I don't like.

    I am about to DJ some clubs in college and want to upgrade to some different software or extrnal controller to improve the mixing capabilities

    Have any suggestions? I really don't want to spend another $400 on a different program but am just wondering what in the world I can do?

    Thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    upgrade to traktor pro,get a kontrol X1 & an audio 2 and your good to go
    if your dj'ing clubs you can use there mixer and save for one your own
    and for parties,weddings etc... just use the mixtrack till you can upgrade again.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Yeah what he said!! Sounds to me like you are using Traktor LE which is going to be limited as it's just to give you a sniff of what the full fat version can do. Upgrade to Traktor pro and you'll be laughing!! Actually I think there is someone inthe buy/sell forum selling Traktor pro 1.2.7.
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ventura County
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I did upgrade to Pro a few months ago but ended up returning it. I didn't feel it added very many effects for my $200. I had a hard time getting all the controls to work right too so maybe that had something to do with it.

    Usually Traktor Pro would be a huge upgrade to controllers, but from what I have researched when it comes to the MixDeck it really doesn't make a big difference...
    True or not?

  5. #5
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,069

    Default

    i paid 50 bucks for my traktor pro from someone on here...go look...it will change your game...
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

  6. #6
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Same here. I got my upgrade from here and it cost 40. And how many effects would one person need? Never used the mixdeck bit Traktor pro compliments most controllers to be fair. What exactly are you looking for?
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    157

    Default

    the mixdeck has a built in mixer/soundcard. Getting an audio 2 or another soundcard wouldnt really HELP unless you want to use time code. When i had mine, i remapped the back and mode button to allow me to juggle 8 cue points. I would remapp the eject button from "START TRACK OVER" to filter off. Change the pant knob to key knob.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ssjaken View Post
    the mixdeck has a built in mixer/soundcard. Getting an audio 2 or another soundcard wouldnt really HELP unless you want to use time code. When i had mine, i remapped the back and mode button to allow me to juggle 8 cue points. I would remapp the eject button from "START TRACK OVER" to filter off. Change the pant knob to key knob.
    - The Mixdeck Pro has a sound card. Not the regular Mixdeck
    - The Audio 2 is not used for timecode, the 4,6,8 and 10 are.
    - If he has a Mixdeck + X1 and wants to play in a club he's gonna need a soundcard to plug into the house mixer to use with just the X1.

    Yes. The mixdeck would work MUCH better with Traktor PRO if you remap it. It would have much more functionality than the LE version.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ventura County
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keithace View Post
    i paid 50 bucks for my traktor pro from someone on here...go look...it will change your game...
    I am simply looking for more mixing functions available. I have never like being at clubs next to other DJs and they had crazy cool effects, hot cues and what not while I was limited to what I could do on the Mixdeck.

    I feel as though the mixdeck has many amazing functions, effects, scratching features, etc for CDs but when it comes to Midi mode it honestly doesn't, maybe just my opinion?

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Coop View Post
    I feel as though the mixdeck has many amazing functions, effects, scratching features, etc for CDs but when it comes to Midi mode it honestly doesn't, maybe just my opinion?
    just forget the software and burn all your music to cds

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •