Time Machine
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Time Machine

  1. #1
    Tech Guru narrah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bali
    Posts
    556

    Default Time Machine

    Any of the Mac users using time machine?

    Will this save all my settings and files within TP?

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Time machine backups a complete image of your internal hard drive. Any change within files will be automatically backup, thus is your TP files ever get corrupted go back in time when they were working properly and restore those files.
    Thank Ya!!!

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Time Machine is essential I made the mistake of not using it all on my last mac book and ended up losing 100Gigs... now I set it up to back up every time i plug in the drive.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    290

    Default

    1.21 Gigawats!
    obsidiance breaks-drum'n'bass-big beats

  5. #5
    Tech Guru narrah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bali
    Posts
    556

    Default

    Can anyone recomend a good portable hard drive for back up?

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Seagate freeagent. Their cheap and the best looking hard drives out there, cnet news even agrees.
    Thank Ya!!!

  7. #7
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    Seagate HD are good, I also used western digital, I replaced my HD in my MB with a Hitachi. Have you also considered using Carbon Copy Cloner?
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  8. #8
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by obsidiance View Post
    1.21 Gigawats!
    Back to my Future, obsidiance!
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  9. #9
    Tech Guru narrah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bali
    Posts
    556

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesC View Post
    Seagate HD are good, I also used western digital, I replaced my HD in my MB with a Hitachi. Have you also considered using Carbon Copy Cloner?
    OK, so seagate looks like a winner.......

    I dont know about Carbon Copy Cleaner, how is it different to time machine?

    also, Ive heard mention of this Laci or Lacai storage drive, Are people using these to back up thier record collection?

    BTW- thks for advice

  10. #10
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    the laci's have western digital HD just to let you know.
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •