help hooking up 2 computers to one soundcard
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor nuke5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oconomowoc, WI
    Posts
    493

    Default help hooking up 2 computers to one soundcard

    So this is what I have:

    1 Desktop computer with a 3.5mm jack (listen to itunes/youtube videos...etc)
    1 Laptop with a head phone jack (for ableton and traktor)
    Pair of KRK Rokit 6's G2 (not purchased yet)
    Focusrite Saffire 6 (not purchased yet)

    What I want to know is if I can hook up both of these computers to the focusrite so that i can use the monitors for both computers?

    I dont really want to be unplugging and plugging in the wires if i wanna listen to something on the other computer...

    will i have to go through a little mixer like this:
    [ame="http://www.amazon.com/Behringer-502-XENYX502-5-Channel-Mixer/dp/B000J5UEGQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1309399079&sr=1-1"]Amazon.com: Behringer XENYX502 5-Channel Mixer: Musical Instruments@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51lcthq3ylL.@@AMEPARAM@@51lcthq3ylL[/ame]

    Any suggestions to help me with my confusion?

    thanks for the help!
    Last edited by nuke5; 06-29-2011 at 09:45 PM.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Paka Ono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The middle of nowhere
    Posts
    495

    Default

    If you want all four audio outs (laptop, desktop, saffire 1, saffire 2) to be able to be routed to your Rokits, then yes that mixer will work for you.

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    That'll do what you want. Just run everything into that then hook your Rockit's to it.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor nuke5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oconomowoc, WI
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Alright thanks guys! How would I hook up the sound card then?

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    You'll only be able to use the sound card with one computer at a time, but you can plug the other's headphone jack into the mixer with the right cable.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor nuke5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oconomowoc, WI
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Okay thanks for the help! So since I use my laptop for production/DJing I would have the sound card hooked up to that, run the sound card to the mixer, then run a cable from my desktop to the mixer, and then plug in the rokits' cables to the mixer? Hopefully this makes sense lol

  7. #7
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    yup.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor nuke5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oconomowoc, WI
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Cool...

    Thanks for the clarification! I really appreciate it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •