Trouble calling yourself a Dj?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Trouble calling yourself a Dj?

Hey, I've been djing (controller+traktor pro) for about four months(?) on and off and I think I've finally started to get good enough to play small house parties and the like. But I still don't consider myself to be a Dj or worthy of a Dj name.

What about you? When did you consider yourself a DJ and/or start using a dj alias?

Tech Guru

when i started sharing my mixes with friends i started using a dj moniker to label the cd's with. i think i had been practicing for atleast a year or so before i started letting people listen to my stuff though.

Tech Mentor

Until someone who you respect like a dj, tells you good job. I think so
    Thank Ya!!!

Plenty of DJ's don't take a DJ name.

As you can tell by my moniker, I believe that a DJ name should be bestowed upon him by someone else, not created by himself. Hence, I'm stuck with this!
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Quote Originally Posted by misha_val View Post
    Hey, I've been djing (controller+traktor pro) for about four months(?) on and off and I think I've finally started to get good enough to play small house parties and the like. But I still don't consider myself to be a Dj or worthy of a Dj name.

What about you? When did you consider yourself a DJ and/or start using a dj alias?

I know what your thinking. I have only really been doing this for a little less then a year on and off at times. When i first started with traktor i was doing to basic things to call myself a DJ (Plus my limited music knowledge at the time didnt help).

I think it really hit me when i would just be messing around and out of no where songs would come into my head that i knew would mix well with the track i currently had playing, and then i knew what effects to mix it in seamlessly.