Microphones and Phantom Power
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ireland, Belfast
    Posts
    189

    Default Microphones and Phantom Power

    Hey for anyone that might be more familiar with Microphones than me I really need your help!! So I just bought a Gatt LD5 Condenser Microphone there because I heard they where a good and affordable microphone for recording my voice on my radio show. So I get back and I plug in my microphone to my Audio 8 to route it through Ableton to record the voice and have did this with other mics not a problem before hand.

    FOr some reason its not working and everything I try is just not getting any signal through. Then I get told it could be because its phantom power etc.
    I did not have a clue what this was before and still do not understand what differance makes as I bought this from someone elses advice thinking it would just plug in and work like the other mics I used did.

    Any advice or what do I need to get this working with my audio 8 and ableton!

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor No Left Turn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    434

    Default

    You're going to need a dynamic microphone, which doesn't require phantom power, since the Audio 8 doesn't provide phantom power for condenser microphones.
    MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Core i7 :: Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.10.5
    Traktor Pro 2.9 :: Launchpad :: MIDI Fighter Pro Beatmasher/3D

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Alex Wild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Default

    Or a pre amp with phantom power and line output. But probably better returning it and getting a dynamic mic.
    Mixes: www.mixcloud.com/djalexwild/
    Production: www.soundcloud.com/alexwild
    DJM500 : X1 : MBP 15" 2.53 GHz 4 GB RAM : HD25SP : MASCHINE

  4. #4
    Tech Guru josh@firestorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Microphones and Phantom Power

    Either return it or get yourself a cheap behringer mic mixer and plug the audio 8 into one of the channels on the behringer and then plug the output of the behringer into your sound. You can pick them up cheap as chips on eBay.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ireland, Belfast
    Posts
    189

    Default

    ahh would a dynamic mic be better than a condenser for recording voice? Also could you link me to anything i need to get the mic working. Cheers in advance.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor biru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Betwixt AU and JP
    Posts
    136

    Default

    http://www.mediacollege.com/audio/mi...condenser.html

    vs

    http://www.mediacollege.com/audio/mi...s/dynamic.html

    Some condensor microphones have the capacity to slide a battery into the body in lieu of running phantom from a preamp.
    "Tell me what I need to be a DJ so I can f*ck the prom queen"
    Biru on Soundcloud
    Biru on Facebook

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ireland, Belfast
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Thanks for all teh advice. Really appreciated. Have decided to get a Behringer PS400 Phantom Power Supply tomorrow if at all possible. The condenser mic was bought second hand so could not return as such.
    Thanks again

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manus View Post
    Thanks for all teh advice. Really appreciated. Have decided to get a Behringer PS400 Phantom Power Supply tomorrow if at all possible. The condenser mic was bought second hand so could not return as such.
    Thanks again


    Go with this right here...

    I bought an M Audio Nova microphone and this phantom power supply, and man is that shit heavy duty!
    ive had it for almost 3 years, been recordin with the same equipment

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •