Traktor S4 Scratch Upgrade help?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor EchePalante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Miami
    Posts
    235

    Default Traktor S4 Scratch Upgrade help?

    Hello everyone,
    Eche Palante here once again. So, I just got the S4 upgrade kit and downloaded and authorized the Traktor Scratch Pro 2 software. I loaded it up and here are my settings:

    using the external controller- traktor kontrol s4
    no timecode

    So, i wanted to test out the jog wheels scratch function and when i did im dissapointed. i really want it to make the "aah" sound like a real turntable does but i just dont know why its not doing it. sorry if i sound dumb right now but i was wondering how do you make the "aah" sound. What i mean by the sound is for example in this video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-aDegs5-n4
    If u start at 0:50, you notice he puts the crossfader to the left and releases the jog wheel and it makes the "aah" sound. How does he make that work because for some reason i cant do it. Does it have to do with what track i load up and use? FX? what am i doing wrong here.

    thanks for the help.

    -eche palante

    PS: sorry if i sound dumb once again. still gettin used to it!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru DigitalDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    799

    Default

    i really want it to make the "aah" sound like a real turntable does but i just dont know why its not doing it.
    since I got a hearty lol from this I'll respond

    Quote Originally Posted by DJZEchevarria View Post
    Does it have to do with what track i load up and use?
    Yes. The magic sound you're looking for is just the track on that deck being played.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor EchePalante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Miami
    Posts
    235

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DigitalDevil View Post
    since I got a hearty lol from this I'll respond


    Yes. The magic sound you're looking for is just the track on that deck being played.
    but like are they specific tracks?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru DigitalDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    799

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJZEchevarria View Post
    but like are they specific tracks?
    Yes, they like are.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Whoa dude. Are you complaining that traktor doesn't turn tracks into cliche scratch samples?

    Gotta load that shit up with scratch samples bro!
    The xwax Thread! - The minimal open source DVS for Linux!
    Reddit's /r/DJs! - Another great DJ community!

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor EchePalante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Miami
    Posts
    235

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPopinjay View Post
    Whoa dude. Are you complaining that traktor doesn't turn tracks into cliche scratch samples?

    Gotta load that shit up with scratch samples bro!
    where do i get the samples lol beatport?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Google serato scratch sentence.
    The xwax Thread! - The minimal open source DVS for Linux!
    Reddit's /r/DJs! - Another great DJ community!

  8. #8
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    YEP....or Scratch Tools....

    Or....find that sound....make MP3...and load it up.

    Make sure you are letting the track play when you release the jog wheel.

    Else it won;t AHHH!!




    Ahhhh.....HAAA!!!

    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Boston/Worcester
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    It's the most famous scratch sample. You dont need the scratch upgrade to scratch like that on the s4 either. The scratch upgrade will however let you scratch that sample on turntables w/ traktor.

  10. #10
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You can also check the scratch samples that came with the S4 software. That aah is not one of them though. I think maybe you need to watch some scratch tutorials as well since this is all really basic stuff.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •