Best set up for home mixing?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Best set up for home mixing?

Hey guys, looking to upgrade to a nice, weighty home system for when I'm just mixing in my spare time.

I'm totally new to all things audio, but I've been looking at a few different options.

A. Get a Studio Monitor pair (KRK or something in that range) and add a subwoofer in
    B. PA System, although idk if this would be TOO much volume for me, I live in a small house
    C. Home Theatre/HiFi system. Get a few satellite speakers and a sub, get a receiver and run that.

I really want to be able to use my S4 as the soundcard still, looking for the least amount of hassle to get awesome, full sound, although a little bit of legwork isn't really a problem.

So, really, what is everyone else out there using at home? What would you suggest under about 1000 total.
    Note that if I do get a PA system it probably won't leave the house, most venues already have systems here and I'm done with house parties for a while.

KRK rp8s, maybe a KRK 10s Sub and you'll be golden.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Tech Mentor

i agree that a good pair of monitors and sub is a nice choice. To get a 2-channel system to be accurate, low, AND loud is not easy for less than $1000 bucks. I would suggest listening to some active monitors and start with that and if you need more ooomph, get a subwoofer.
    If you had more money and you really want a midfield system, you should be looking at something like a pair of NHT classic 4 with a 2 channel amp. Or similar tower speakers like B&W, Monitor Audio, Focal, etc.
    I'd definitely steer away from compression driver PA speakers in your home, these can be brutally harsh and fatigue your ears easily, unless again you shell out some serious bucks for an audiophile horn system.