Starting up...
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Starting up...

Tech Wizard

Default Starting up...

Hey everyone,

I got into DJing because i met a friend two years ago that was just starting and i see what he does now and i love it. I want to learn also. His setup is simple and only uses

a Vestax VCI 100
    M-Audio X-session pro (rarely even touches it)
    Kaos Pad (also rarely touched)

Tracktor (for live mixes)
    Logic (for production work).

I really want to get into live mixing, and since i rarely see him use anything but his VCI 100 i was wondering if that was the right thing for me to get.

Im a complete beginner so i dont have a sound card or the know how to set it up. I was wondering if you guys could 1) reccomend me a midi controller (such as the VCI 100) and 2) link me to some tutorials on getting started in DJing (such as hooking up cables for a soundcard, learning how to mix live and how to produce non-live stuff).

Thanks!

If I were starting right now, I'd get a Kontrol s4. If you get the vci used for say $350 (and I would get one with firmware 1.4, which means more realistically $4-450 used), then an audio 2 for $100 and Traktor for $140 with the LE upgrade with the audio 2, you only save a few hundred dollars. It may sound like a lot, but the s4 is an incredibly better controller, has four deck control, sample deck control, better jogwheels, ability to easily beatmatch etc. - it's a much better value. I originally bought a vci-100, and like countless people have since sold it and upgraded to the s4. It was well worth it.

Tech Wizard

The VCI 100SE has firmware 1.4 and some really cool features. But i will take a look at the S4 and see what it is like. I am assuming that the audio 2 is a soundcard, correct?

Quote Originally Posted by keeb View Post