Beginners road bike for a big bugger ...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Beginners road bike for a big bugger ...

Ahoy,

I've got an off road bike (a 2008 Trek 6300 which is rather nice) as I used to do a load of offroad biking when I was a kid. The thing is even with slicks it's not exactly nippy on the road, and as I do far more road cycling than anything else, I'm considering getting a road bike to commute on, and to go out with my mates who are mostly roadies.

Thing it I'm a big lad (6'5" and around 17 stone / 240 lbs) so I'm going to need a big bike, and as I'm only starting out, I don't want to spend a fortune (£250 ish) so I was after a second hand one.

I've looking at the Specialized Allez/Giant Defy/Trek 1.x range.

Anything else I should consider?
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

They both look to come with 105 and the same wheels so ride is going to be the biggest deciding factor I think. The smaller rear triangle on the Giant will be a stiffer, but more responsive ride than the Allez I think, something you're probably not interested in. I've always liked Specialized more than Giant fwiw.
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

I was mostly concerned with frame geometry. My height is mostly in my back (I've only got a 34" inside leg) so I'm assuming I'd need a long top tube, or an extension on the stem ...
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post