Play the SHM - one melodi on the pioneer decks
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17

    Default Play the SHM - one melodi on the pioneer decks

    Hey

    Please can some one make a tutorial how you play the SHM - one melodi on the pioneer decks?
    Like Laidback Luke in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLe-PatpZRw

  2. #2
    Tech Guru DigitalDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    799

    Default

    He discussed it on his forums a while back, not going to dig for it but you can search around there - http://www.laidbackluke.com/forum/index.php

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    easy enough...set a loop, adjust loop out until u have a constant tone then with master tempo off use the pitch fader to change the note
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  4. #4
    amidoinitrite
    Guest

    Default

    loop and buy a tuner or just use your ear, I'd add a bit of flange/phase and reverb so its not as raw..
    actually.. I would never do it, because it sounds terrible.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Audeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Posts
    415

    Default

    Create a really short loop in a CDJ, be sure to have Master Tempo disabled and you can pitch that extremely short loop all you want. Just go nuts. And play with some effects on the DJM.

    EDIT: Oh. I just reacted without reading previous comments. Chris Woods already explained it perfectly.
    Last edited by Audeo; 08-07-2011 at 10:43 AM.
    Midi Fighter|Kontrol X1|A4DJ|HDJ2000|MBP 13" 2,53Ghz 60GB SSD/500GB HDD

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amidoinitrite View Post
    loop and buy a tuner or just use your ear, I'd add a bit of flange/phase and reverb so its not as raw..
    actually.. I would never do it, because it sounds terrible.
    Exactly
    it sounded like utter rubbish
    /人◕‿‿◕人\
    --Its not the OS, It's the user--

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Shuld i have the pitch setting on Wide or 10%? Its hard to find the right tune/key

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Holy shit he just plooped all over the place.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wenen View Post
    Shuld i have the pitch setting on Wide or 10%? Its hard to find the right tune/key
    well if u arent getting it on 10% then yes....use wide
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  10. #10
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,598

    Default

    Go with Sam's 'plooping', sounds much better:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iy96A...layer_embedded
    DJDiscourse.com the new DJ community

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •