max record time?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Garygary1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default max record time?

    I want to record my upcoming gig with traktor's internal recorder.

    Whats the max amount of time i can record for? (i've got a 2 hour set)

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West Palm Beach
    Posts
    426

    Default

    Just set your max file size in Traktor for 2048MB... which is about 4 hours I believe.

    If you go over that, it will simply split the file and continue recording.
    Traktor Kontrol Z2 | (2) Pioneer CDJ-2000 | Traktor Kontrol X1 | Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6
    MacBook Pro | Sennheiser HD25-1 II | (2) EV ELX115P | EV ELX112P | (2) EV ELX118P

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Garygary1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    thanks brock, just what i needed

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,410

    Default

    600MB/Hour, If you need longer then record through audacity/audition etc mate
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    To be fair, you can still use the Traktor internal recorder for as long as you want, you just have to stitch the files back together in Audacity or equivalent afterwards ... the only real limit is hard drive space.
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,410

    Default

    true true. pain in the butt tho
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  7. #7
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,524

    Default

    not really, just paste the second part after the first one. It would be a pain if you are handling mp3 files

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    not really, just paste the second part after the first one. It would be a pain if you are handling mp3 files
    Yup.. this is exactly what I do every time I play... it takes a little time to convert a 6 hour set to mp3 though.. so leave yourself some time for the computer to crunch numbers.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    You can use the open source SOX utility to combine multiple WAV files into one if Traktor splits them.

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/sox/
    more info here:
    http://sox.sourceforge.net/
    Last edited by GeekGod; 08-10-2011 at 01:17 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •