Foray into Dub Techno
    Tech Mentor

Default Foray into Dub Techno

My latest track, been working a lot on the production end of the track, but it still sounds a bit muddy to me. Any thoughts / criticisms would be appreciated

Cut anything with a hi-pass filter above 150Hz or so, excluding drums and bass. Especially the reverb (bus?) That should help with some of the muddiness.

I would also sparingly use a multi-band compressor to move up the kick sound so it has more presence.

PS: Sounds good, let me know when you have a new mix and I will download it.

Tech Mentor

Thanks for the tips, will be trying out the changes you suggested tonight

Banned

While Ksandvik has the right idea, 150hz seems a bit high, just do it by ear (I find 125hz to be a bit better).

Also, what's your chain like for your "dub chords"? Do you have the FX on the channel or as a return?

Tech Mentor

Hard to explain since I'm still learning, here is a screenshot of my chain though for the dub chords

Banned

Well, it's a basic "dub chord" chain, just two things. Doesn't look like your compressor is doing anything, so bring down the threshold and tweak the ratio to taste (I find a 4:1 ratio works well for this scenario). And I can't tell what your reverb is doing, but make you're taking out the lowend in the verb using its cutoffs and that should help a lot.

On a personal note, you might want to try putting the filter before the verb, and changing the filter to a bandpass as well. Can get some interesting textures in there as you automate the frequency.

Banned

Also! Instead of automating the volume faders, I would slap a utility on each track and then automate the gains. That way when it comes to your mixdown and when your adjusting your levels you won't lose any of that automation.