best controller/software for multiple-genre mobile dj?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default best controller/software for multiple-genre mobile dj?

hi everyone,
    i've been using serato scratch live + 1200's for the past several years, and am considering making the switch to a controller. i've been reading up on the numark ns6, pioneer ddj-s1 and pioneer ddj-t1, xone dx, etc.

i primarily play mobile gigs, and like to switch between genres (dance music, hip hop, dancehall, disco, 80s, indie rock, motown, cumbia, salsa, reggaeton, merengue, etc) quickly.

what controller/s would you recommend for someone like me? i'd like a 4-channel setup, and am not really tied to serato (aka i'm just as fine switching to traktor as i am switching to itch).

thanks!

Tech Mentor

There isn't one correct answer to this, go with what you feel most comfortable with. Head to your local store and check out some controllers!
    Production - 24" iMac. Digidesign 003+ Rack. Genelec 8020A Monitors. UA 710 Twin Finity Preamp. Many Microphones.
    DJ - 15" MBP. Traktor Pro 2. Audio DJ 2. Kontrol X1. Maschine. MidiFighter Pro. AIAIAI TMA-1 Headphones.
    Website Soundcloud Email

Tech Wizard

TWITCH if you don't need jogwheels
    | 13" Macbook Pro | Novation Twitch | Kontrol X1 | Bose QuietComfort 15 Headphones | Traktor Pro 2 | Serato Itch |

well... i thought the same thing not long ago and figured out that the best control over multiple genres will be DVS with turntables... smallish controller like X1, or Dicers, or midifighter might complement your needs... do you really need more than 2 decks?
    DJ Blofeld - The Evil Genius
    I shall look forward personally to exterminating you, Mr. Bond.” Ernst Stavro Blofeld to 007
    Doomsday device: TRAKTOR SCRATCH PRO, AUDIO 8, VCI-100black 1.3, 2x Technics SL1210mkII

Quote Originally Posted by DoubleG View Post
    TWITCH if you don't need jogwheels