MacBook Air's - Plenty of grunt it seems
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46
  1. #1
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default MacBook Air's - Plenty of grunt it seems

    I know its come up a few times how good the Air is for DJ'ing ... Apparetly it now kicks ass even over last years 17' MBP so plently of power for Audio Apps

    http://www.macrumors.com/2011/07/20/...0-macbook-pro/

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    I was wondering if should I buy an Air 13'' with i7 1.7 or MBP 13''...
    I'm worried because the lack of USBs and because there is no Firewire.

    I think I will wait for some hubs to appear before jump into Air :
    Thunderbolt -> 4xUSB
    Thunderbolt -> Firewire800

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    If I had to spend my own Nickel I would not hesitate going with a Air. I have a 2 year old Air here that runs Traktor really well granted you cannot slam it with a bunch of FX and stuff but for normal tasks its great. Can only imagine what the current crop is like.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Belmont!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    I know its come up a few times how good the Air is for DJ'ing ... Apparetly it now kicks ass even over last years 17' MBP so plently of power for Audio Apps

    http://www.macrumors.com/2011/07/20/...0-macbook-pro/
    Look at the size of that screen!

  5. #5
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    which one ? The 13 or 11' ?

    I wouldn't really consider the 11' .... 13' at a minimum resolution looks sick too and looks like it'd put my battered 2 year old MBP to shame.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru DJZILCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney/Singapore
    Posts
    635

    Default

    as much as i want to get the 2011 MBA - 256GB SSD is not enough to store all my music

    I just upgraded my macbook pro hdd to 750GB and its still not enough - really cant imagine going to 256GB unless i really downsize my library

    too bad though the 13 inch MBA looks so SEXY
    Setup:

    Traktor Pro 2 / S2 MK2 / X1 MK2 / Audio6 / Pioneer HDJ2000 / Westone UM3X / rMBP 13 inch 2014 (2.8 GHz) / Focal Alpha 50

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    158

    Default

    as mentioned earlier the USB connectivity is the biggest problem. But the air's are more and more looking like the perfect portable dj laptop
    2 x Technics 1210's (mk3's), Xone 62, Denon 3500, TSP2, Traktor Kontrol S4, Midifighter, Macbook pro

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJZILCH View Post
    as much as i want to get the 2011 MBA - 256GB SSD is not enough to store all my music

    I just upgraded my macbook pro hdd to 750GB and its still not enough - really cant imagine going to 256GB unless i really downsize my library

    too bad though the 13 inch MBA looks so SEXY
    That's my worry... My music collection right now is not so large, I can live with 256GB, but I'm not a professional DJ yet, I think it will rise as the time goes on and I will end up needing an external HD. It's even worse because that I would loose half of the USBs...
    It would be easier to choose if there was an adaptor, hub or something to expand the thunderbolt port to multi-protocols adapters (usb, firewire, ethernet, hdmi)

  9. #9
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Shouldn't it be theoretically possible to make a powered Thunderbolt USB hub with like 50 ports if you wanted? If no one's made a TB USB hub yet (other than the new cinema display, that doesn't count lol), I'm amazed!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Belmont!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    Shouldn't it be theoretically possible to make a powered Thunderbolt USB hub with like 50 ports if you wanted? If no one's made a TB USB hub yet (other than the new cinema display, that doesn't count lol), I'm amazed!
    Sexactly.

    My only concern is the 13" screen.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •