VCI-100SE Comfortable w/"Mundane" Mixing?

Default VCI-100SE Comfortable w/"Mundane" Mixing?

Heya guys, I'm a total nOob but after cruising the FAQ and posts I don't see this:

I have a macbook, and am getting a NI Audio 8 DJ (and Traktor LE) for starts, to see if I have any skillz left, and see if I can get into post-vinyl mixology. I am a long-off-the-board 2x550's-and-a-microphone kinda guy from the late 80's. I'm ultra-computer and pretty MIDI literate but not as a musician (I am a programmer and make online stores) so insane MIDI mapping etc. doesn't scare me.

Q: Do you think the VCI-100SE would also be a good controller/mixer to run Traktor to do the "grind", the mundane birthday/wedding/holiday-inn-crap club scene?

I love the demos of the SE version of the VCI-100, I love the insane "workflow" work that Ean put into it. "Workflow" is a word everyone should think of from the digiphoto world for sure, and its the excellent workflow embodied in the SE that makes me interested. I want to shred it up on my own time and get the skillz but I'll need to be able to do the "regular" DJ stuff that people expect around here--there is an awful lot of "country + hip-hop" scene here (Oklahoma), which I know will confuse most people outside the area. Country="Just play it", don't mix it. Hip-hop is just as wide-open here as anywhere, but, there is a big emphasis on the really-big-on-the-radio-RIGHT-NOW vs. any older/classic vibes.

Based on the sounds I like, Ean's demos (that I like!) and the rig size I want to have (fits in UDG Producer Bag) to be able to "add-on" to a house setup and be mobile (Fender PD250? Mackies?) for a medium-sized room as well.

Thanks in advance, the community is even more out there than it ever was!

G.
    Last edited by loslosbaby; 02-25-2009 at 06:37 PM.

I'll need to be able to do the "regular" DJ stuff that people expect around here