Newbie here

Thread: Newbie here

Tech Student

Default Newbie here

Hey Guys

My problem is that I can't figure out how to set my traktor PRO demo to work with my headphones.
    I got an Imac to which I connected my Numark Stealth, Also I've connected my Alesis io2 express to the computer.
    To the IO2 i've connected my alesis speakers and my headphones.
    When in the traktor preferences I chose the IO2 as the main output sound.
    And here the problem, I can't listen to song A in the monitors and song B in the headphones and then cue them.
    Any Idea on how to solve this? or if i'm doing something wrong?

Does the Alesis out put 4 channels or only 2? To have the ability to cue in your headphones you need 4. Most sound cards for production only have 2 outs. A left and right. DJ sound cards have at 2 sets of L and R channels. One set for main out and one set for monitor.

When you are selecting the outputs in preferences it will show just one set or 2 sets.

Ok I looked at the specs for your sound card, and you only have 2 output channels. To cue in headphones, you would need another sound card. Good inexpensive ones are the Numark DJ I/o and the Audio DJ 2 from Native instruments.

Tech Student

Thanks so Much for your answer but I figured out a way

Ok so I found the answer and I'm gonna Share here for other people future problems and troubleshooting

The problem was that I couldn't listen to a track on my headphones and to a different track on the monitors and cue them.
    In order to solve it I went to applications-utilities-Midi
    There I created an aggregated device (use the small + sign on the bottom to create a new "Aggregate Device") in this device I added my Alesis io 2 and my USB speakers (use the check boxes).
    Now I created and new device that has 2 in and 4 out.
    Configure your speakers so chose multichannel and make sure you check both streams