DJ in a rock band?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    189

    Default DJ in a rock band?

    Hi guys, im wondering whether this is a feasible idea, of being a dj in a rock band. Its a school group thing which i auditioned for, and it was the closest to any sort of performance stuff. So no worries about gig payments/etc, just wanna have a hell of a time.

    If this is feasible, how would one go about integrating/adding to the overall performance of it? which would be btr then just me solo djing at some parts while the band takes over at some other parts.

    Loops? Samples? Scratching? (which sadly im not gd at yet) Fade in, fade out of band sets into dj sets and vice versa? Im kind of at a lost. Any creative help would be much appreciated!

    My current set-up is just the kontrol s4 running tp2.

    Would it be possible to control the main output of the band thru my s4, so that i can add effects via tp2 and then into the main speakers?

    This isnt a one off performance fyi, but spread out over the course of the year.

    Insights/ideas/thoughts anybody? Thanks guys!
    2 x Technics 1210 / 2 x Stanton ST150 / Shure M44-7 / Kontrol S4 / KRK Rokit 5 / AIAIAI TM-1 / Westone 1 / HP dv6-6105TX

  2. #2
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tornesoul View Post
    Hi guys, im wondering whether this is a feasible idea, of being a dj in a rock band.
    What a fantastic idea
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6OMNFGBOQ8w
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor ranzerox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    304

    Default

    The craze of having a dj in a band died in the 90 to early 2000s didn't it? But, I personally think posthardcore bands sound best with some elctronica thrown in. That's if you wanna be on stage with them. But you'd just run your cables to the sound booth and let the tech handle it. The downside is a lot of venues aren't made to handle electronica soundsbut it shouldn't be an issue. Loops and samples would be the most useful to the band I think.
    Dell 2.3 Ghz 4 Gb Laptop - Windows 7 Premium
    Numark Stealth - Kontrol X1 - Akai LPD8 - APC20 - Novation Launchpad - Numark Mixdeck
    Traktor Pro 2 - Ableton Live 8.100000000000000

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor nuke5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oconomowoc, WI
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Doesnt linkin park have that mr hans guy or something? Of course it can be done!
    Production: HP G62 2.6 dual core, 8gb ram | Live 8 | APC40 | MPD32 | MPK Mini | NI A2 | KRK Rokit 6 G2s | 6pack of Rolling Rock
    DJ: Kontrol X1 | TP2

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Some groups still do it. You might have heard of this small group from Italy called The Bloody Beetroots haha

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    189

    Default

    I know it can be done, just wondering how to go about it. E.g. in wat way could i add to the overall performance?

    lethal_pizzle: heh i thought about that, and it does make sense. but ya, the rock band was the only thing that came close to me having a some sort of exposure/performance. so ya.

    i think i'll be able to do solo sets here and there. but im wondering about the integration part. thats the area which im lost at.
    2 x Technics 1210 / 2 x Stanton ST150 / Shure M44-7 / Kontrol S4 / KRK Rokit 5 / AIAIAI TM-1 / Westone 1 / HP dv6-6105TX

  7. #7
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lethal_pizzle View Post
    What a fantastic idea
    I know a DJ in a rock band, I'm sending him this

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,065

    Default

    in reality if you dont know how it could be done why would you attempt it??, its like saying I wanna be a superstar dj, where do I start??. I think you should practise first then going in and blowing it and having them laugh at you
    *Samsung rv 511, 8gb ram, core i5 processor* *Samsung netbook 2gb ram* *Traktor pro 2* *Traktor s4* *midi fighter spectra* *audio technica ath-m50x* *m audio trigger finger pro* *ableton* *fl studio* and a load of other random bits and pieces.... plus I like bacon yo.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru jakeintox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    816

    Default

    My dj rig is set up in the same space that some bands practice so I've messed around with this a few times. Mostly one-shot samples and baby scratches, maybe throwing in a hip hop beat during breakdowns.

    Intoxicated /adj./ When you feel sophisticated without being able to pronounce it.

    facebook.com/DJJakeLake
    jakelake.info

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Glen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    296

    Default

    yea linkin park does it, their first album was awesome (hybrid theory) but it went south from their, you should check that one ou.t
    Check out my...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/glenboarder99
    http://soundcloud.com/glenboarder99
    Quote Originally Posted by sarasin View Post
    Then you are golden....like Ean Golden.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •