automatic beat matching crossfader

Default automatic beat matching crossfader

Hi all! First post on the forum.

I'm a computer programmer who dabbles in audio tech stuff. Have been working on a hack that uses echonest beat data to automatically beat match two pieced of music. This matches individual beats, not just the bpms. Thinking about also making it pitch shift automatically to place pieces of music in the same relative key automatically.

Any feedback welcome, thanks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FV0yN...eature=related

Tech Guru

This is an interesting project to be sure, but it's fundamentally different than what a DJ typically does when mixing music.

The presumption you're making throughout this whole process is that DJs only care about the tempo of the music, and then only when the mix is actually happening. This is incorrect on both counts.

When a DJ mixes songs, he listens to not only tempo, but the phrasing as well (and key, but I'll leave that alone). Doing things like lining up phrases or drops is just as important as mixing the beat. So, a DJ needs to not only be able to mix the beat, they need to be able to hear the speed adjusted songs playing together in PFL in order to line up phrasing. Your method of mixing only effects the song's tempo during a mix, which kills the ability to hear the songs together in PFL before the mix, as well as the ability to line up phrases.

There's plenty of potential here, but you're not going to get anywhere by breaking a fundamental DJ use case. I think the best thing you could do is to work with an experienced DJ who could give you the insight into DJing your project currently lacks. You might also want to reach out to other open source DJ software projects, like Mixxx.

I'll keep an eye on this!

this is really interesting. i can see this defo working for radio use.
    DJ Blofeld - The Evil Genius
    I shall look forward personally to exterminating you, Mr. Bond.” Ernst Stavro Blofeld to 007