No Pioneer experience. How to show I can mix ?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default No Pioneer experience. How to show I can mix ?

Hi guys,

I'm starting to plan my way into the DJ scene in my village in the Netherlands, where there are a lot of student parties etc. (I am a student as well).

I will start by sending out some emails and giving them some mixtapes etc.

But here is my problem: if (hopefully) they are interested, and invite me to come and show my skills at the club before working hours let's say, they most probably expect me to mix using their CDJs and DJM-800.

I've only mixed on my numark mixdeck, and even though I perfectly understand how CDJs work, I've never used them myself and am afraid that this will limit my skills since I wouldn't know how to set a cue point for example.

Beatmatching isn't the problem here by the way. Just the change of gear.

So how do you guys think I best handle this problem ? Should I ask them if I can take my mixdeck and risk being refused the invite or should I just give it a shot ?
    Allen&Heath Xone:22 - NI Kontrol X1 - Novation Launchpad - Akai LPD8 - Traktor Audio 2 DJ - Pioneer HDJ-1000/Klipsch S4i in-ear headphones - Traktor Pro 2 - Macbook Pro 13" 2011 (Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM)
    Soundcloud
    Facebook Fan Page

You can try to take your mixdeck, but I wouldnt..........if you're gonna dj maybe you need to start learning how to use different gear!

I'm not sure how things work over there but if they actually want to see you mix I wouldn't bring in the mixdeck. There is a lot of prejudice against controllers and the mixdeck won't make you look very professional. I would write you off as an amateur if I saw you using one. CDJs aren't very hard to use, if you really have zero problem beatmatching without waveforms just hit play and cue and use the jog wheel. Go to a store and practice on their setup.