The same ole traktor problem?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Smokie toon, Scotland
    Posts
    160

    Default The same ole traktor problem?

    Mixer set to external check
    Timecode scratch control check
    Timecode responding as a vinyl should scratches back and forth slows down speeds up, yet when moving crossfade or volume faders the audio doesn't change? Just stays constant?!?!?

    Any ideas??

    Cheers

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Is the crossfader visible on screen?
    Make sure that you have A checked on the Left and B checked on the Right or the crossfader will have no effect.


    Edit: what Faders are you talking about. The channel faders are disabled in External Mode so you cannot be in External mode if you can see channel faders.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Smokie toon, Scotland
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Hey karlos ..the crossfader and volume faders arent visble as i thought that having it set
    to external so i could use my mixer to cut and change them so they are invisble.could be that ive set it all to the same output but shurly the volume would effect the audio signal?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Itchy Gash View Post
    Mixer set to external check
    ...using external mixer?
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Smokie toon, Scotland
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Yup pmc 06 m8

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Smokie toon, Scotland
    Posts
    160

    Default

    With a little fiddling about i think I've got the connections muddled round (or my understanding of the connections) from the way I have it turntable into channel A then from the out of channel A into the phono in of the mixer channel A.

    Then from the main out of the sound card into amp.That should be me set then??

    After swapping round the main out of the sound card to the line out of the mixer I can now cut but everything is mega mega distorted even with the gain turned down...

  7. #7
    Tech Guru 3heads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Leipzig, Germany
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Itchy Gash View Post
    After swapping round the main out of the sound card to the line out of the mixer I can now cut but everything is mega mega distorted even with the gain turned down...
    Which is not surprising if you send a line-level signal into a phono-input
    13,3" MacBookPro (Mid 2012) # 2x Technics 1210 # NI Audio 8 DJ # Ecler Nuo 2.0 # NI Traktor Kontrol X1 # Sennheiser HD-25
    http://soundcloud.com/vincent-lebaron/

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Smokie toon, Scotland
    Posts
    160

    Default

    After more fiddling plugged the main out of the mixer into the main in of the sound card and bingo, which I suppose makes sense as before the mixer was sending any info being last in the chain which going threw the manual doesn't state this to clear!!!

    Althou from the diagram it should be that it is mixer then amp, not souncard out then amp but then after routing it back into the sound card...I think I'm confusing myself

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Desert Hot Springs, CA
    Posts
    763

    Default

    so did you figure it out?
    Hardware: Akai Max49, Maschine, Equator D5 monitors, Saffire Pro 14
    Software: Logic, Maschine
    My Neighbors Listen to House Music.. Because They Have To.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    Its TT....to Soundcard....to Mixer. (x2 ...one for each channel right?)....

    Then from the mixer to the Amp.

    Then your external mixer will work.

    Check the manual too mate....they got diagrams....I don't write too well!

    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •