Xone: DB4- the official unofficial thread - Page 117
Page 117 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1767107113114115116117118119120121 LastLast
Results 1,161 to 1,170 of 1210
  1. #1161
    Tech Guru DarioJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North & Central FL
    Posts
    792

    Default

    confirmed working with traktor and core audio on Mavericks.... Finally!
    The MUSIC is what matters!
    Everything else is _________

  2. #1162
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    279

    Default

    Going to give it a go with the DB2 tonight, will let you know how it goes
    Main Gig Comp - MacBook Air 11" 1.3GHz i5, 4GB, 512GB, OS X 10.12.6
    Gig Gear - TSP 2.6.8 & 2.11.2, Kontrol X1mk2 (x2), D2 (x2), S5, Xone:92, Xone:PX5, CDJ-2000 (x2), DDJ-XP1 ... Rekordbox DJ 5 with a few packs ...
    Plenty of studio gear and not enough time ... and a few Nexo PA systems

  3. #1163
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    279

    Default

    3.5 hours tonight at my Friday night residency where I take the console in with me, and it was rock solid.

    For those that would like to know the working setup:

    MacBook Air 13” i5-1.7GHz 2011 model (USB2 only), 4GB RAM
    OS X 10.9.1, Bit Accurate Driver Selected for DB2, Traktor Pro 2.6.7, 192 samples latency
    USB on Left port only used (kept right open to swap to Traktor Audio 10 if needed) - to Logitech Premium Hub
    On the Hub I had - DB2, 2 x X1mk2, CDJ2000NXS

    I run the hub passive and have no issues with power to either of the X1mk2's, and have no issues with audio drops or anything like that either ...and for those ready to jump down my throat for it, I'd rather have the other port ready to plug in the TA10 should anything "hit the fan" ... and I've had previous issues with the DB2 even when plugged into it's own port.

    Latency at 192 samples still showed up as 15ms total, but there was no perceivable difference launching tracks/samples compared to when I'm using either the DJM850 or TA10/Xone:92.

    Going to try out a new 13" MacBook Pro Retina tonight with USB3, with exactly the same setup, will report how it goes.

    Thanks.
    Main Gig Comp - MacBook Air 11" 1.3GHz i5, 4GB, 512GB, OS X 10.12.6
    Gig Gear - TSP 2.6.8 & 2.11.2, Kontrol X1mk2 (x2), D2 (x2), S5, Xone:92, Xone:PX5, CDJ-2000 (x2), DDJ-XP1 ... Rekordbox DJ 5 with a few packs ...
    Plenty of studio gear and not enough time ... and a few Nexo PA systems

  4. #1164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankle View Post
    Latency at 192 samples still showed up as 15ms total, but there was no perceivable difference launching tracks/samples compared to when I'm using either the DJM850 or TA10/Xone:92.


    Thanks.
    Why is Allen & Heath still having such a tough time getting the latency down? I've seen others posting that the new drivers improved many things, but not latency.

  5. #1165
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    279

    Default

    Well it's a quite night at my gig right now, the 40 deg day here in Melbourne might have something to do with it!

    So I've got access to our store demo 2013 MacBook Pro 13" Retina, and so I got to my gig early and plugged it into the same gear as listed above (both have identical library, OS, drivers & Traktor settings) ... played a few tracks to myself and got momentary screen freezes and audio drops ...

    Looks like the USB3 thing still isn't fixed, will submit my log file to the Xone guys

    Back to using my 2.5 year old MacBook Air for the gig ...

    I hope the USB3 thing gets sorted soon, I would actually like to upgrade my laptop this year but it looks like I'll have this old thing for a while yet, and besides, Traktor only uses around 30% of one thread in Activity Monitor with my MBA, and the brand-new MBPr is about 40% ... probably a topic for another thread!

    Regarding the "Traktor Reported Latency" compared to other soundcards/mixers, I'm going to have to do some real testing with simultaneous I/O from a fixed source, through the DB2 and TA10 (for example), and record each output to compare the offset of waveforms ... It's the only real way to see if it's real or just a figure that NI have stuck into Traktor. To me the "192 Samples" setting on the DB2 feels the same as 192 on the TA10 and DJM850/900.
    Main Gig Comp - MacBook Air 11" 1.3GHz i5, 4GB, 512GB, OS X 10.12.6
    Gig Gear - TSP 2.6.8 & 2.11.2, Kontrol X1mk2 (x2), D2 (x2), S5, Xone:92, Xone:PX5, CDJ-2000 (x2), DDJ-XP1 ... Rekordbox DJ 5 with a few packs ...
    Plenty of studio gear and not enough time ... and a few Nexo PA systems

  6. #1166
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,427

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankle View Post
    Regarding the "Traktor Reported Latency" compared to other soundcards/mixers, I'm going to have to do some real testing with simultaneous I/O from a fixed source, through the DB2 and TA10 (for example), and record each output to compare the offset of waveforms ... It's the only real way to see if it's real or just a figure that NI have stuck into Traktor. To me the "192 Samples" setting on the DB2 feels the same as 192 on the TA10 and DJM850/900.
    You should get the same latency figure from any software using the audio driver, so I doubt it's something NI have influence over. A real-world test would be interesting to see though.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #1167
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default Xone DB4 connect to Mac to record DJ Sets in Audacity

    i am trying to record my dj sets in audacity

    i connect the xone DB4 to my mac mini via usb and it is listed in audio midi and system preferences.
    i am running latest drivers and osx mavericks.

    the problem i have is i am still not getting a level signal at all.

    If I go to System Preferences then sound no music signal is shown by bars in input when i select xone and also says the selected device has no input controls. is this why audacity is not working as it is not getting an audio signal?

    Have i missed something straight forward?
    Last edited by andycalder; 02-17-2014 at 04:40 PM.

  8. #1168

    Default Xone DB4 User Reviews?!

    Hello Everybody.

    I'm new to this forum.
    This is a great thread and I read every page of it

    Im a Traktor DJ, I play mostly deep/funky/disco house and currently use a TA2 with a Xone 42 (love the Xone mixers) & X1 as my setup.

    Im looking to upgrade my mixer to the Xone DB4 as Id like to use the internal soundcard for 4 deck Traktor mixing plus benefit from the amazing studio FX (Mark EGs fx demo pretty much sold this mixer to me) and sweet A&H filters.

    After searching the internet forums for the last few months I see that many users experience serious software (drivers/usb3) and quality issues with their DB4/2 mixers however these seem to date back to 2013 and its now 2015 so perhaps these have been addressed.

    I was thinking about getting the TA10 in case DB4 sound-card still has some driver issues at this time. This is not the ideal solution (at this price) but I still believe the mixer performs better then the DJM 900 (which I also had on my wishlist).

    So with this in mind I have a few questions to Xone DB4 (and perhaps DB2) owners:

    1. Are there any current (2015) known issues with the DB4/2 audio interface, Traktor latency? I currently use the Windows 7 Laptop with usb2 with no issues and plan to upgrade to Win8/usb3 (or higher).

    2. Are there any hardware/ build quality issues?

    3. Are the DB4 FXs PFL?

    Im planning to purchase the DB4 in early April are there any audio tests I should do immediately after purchase to check that everything is in order before the 10 day return policy (UK) runs out (the mixer is a handful for someone switching from a Xone 42).

    I very much appreciate any information from fellow xone users regarding the DB4 (or DB2). Its a lot of cash so wanna make sure Im making the right choice. My heart is set on the DB4!

    Thanks!

  9. #1169
    Tech Guru djproben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,707

    Default

    Is anyone using Serato DJ Club Kit with their DB4 yet?
    "Art is what you can get away with." - Marshall McLuhan

  10. #1170
    Tech Guru djproben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,707

    Default

    Anybody using the latest firmware? Questioning whether I should upgrade given things mostly work fine at the moment...
    "Art is what you can get away with." - Marshall McLuhan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •