New guy looking for guidance
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New guy looking for guidance

Hey guys first post here and just looking for some help.

I have been around audio (mostly car and home audio) for quite some time. Recently i decided to get into pro audio and looking into doing some dj'ing. I have ordered the following:

2 Peavey PV215
    QSC GX5
    Numark Mixdeck

My first time setting this up will be Halloween weekend. My fraternity is throwing a party and im in charge of the music. Im not expecting to get out there and have crazy mixes or even really mixing anything. Basically i just want to set it all up and get the feel and basically just play music straight from my Macbook Pro.

I have done reading everywhere and i realize the mixdeck comes with traktor which seems decent to use and get music from?

Basically this is my first time venturing into this area of music so i could use some help. I just have basic questions like, do i just use my music i already have on my comp and transfer it to traktor? Any tips or anything i need to know?

I know this equipment is a bit over the top for someone who is brand new and just learning and i realize if i do this in my bedroom im gonna need some smaller speakers to listen to, but i figure since i have already ordered it i need to learn how to properly use it all. Im not a complete idiot when it comes to this stuff i just need a bit of guidance in the right direction. Thanks.

Tech Wizard

With your music collection, you just need to point Traktor to the location of your MP3s and have it do an import. Depending on how large your collection is this may take some time as Traktor analyzes each song to get an idea of BPM and beat markers. The good news is you only need to do it once-- Traktor will save that info in your track collection and in the MP3 files themselves.