Mixer Choice
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Mixer Choice

Default Mixer Choice

Hello!

Im getting a new mixer. Im looking at these three. I am new to TCV setup but I feel its time for me....

Pioneer DJM - T1
    Denon x600
    Vestax PMC 05 Pro IV DJ Mixer

It appears these will all work well with Traktor/Virtual DJ? I have not been able to find any comparisions, or any good unbiased reviews of these products. Does anyone have experience with these? Also I am not sure I understand the difference between Traktor Pro and Tractor Scratch? Can anyone help me out? I am also looking at incorporating Albeton into my setup (already have this). I also have an MPK 25 (for production). I was going to get the Rane ttm57sl but now I feel as if it is overpriced - and has limited functionality compared to these mixers (Serato only?).

I would appreciate any and all feedback!

J

What's your setup like? It just makes it a bit easier to narrow it down.
    Think of the following:
    -How many decks do you want to mix with?
    -MIDI, CDJ's, Turntables, or mix of those?

And for difference between Pro and Scratch:
    You need Traktor Scratch if you want to use timecode (for CDJ's or Turntables). Which means that if you want to run CDJ's or TT's you place your timecode cd or vinyl on your media player, hook it up through your NI soundcard to your computer. Traktor Pro doesn't read the timecode information, so you're forced to either buy vinyl or burn CD's. However, if you're only going to be using Midi controllers, then you can go with pro, because you won't need the timecode capabilities.
    DJ: Traktor Kontrol S4, Audio-Technica ATH-M50
    Production: LPD 8, Keystation 49, Fast-Track Pro, Equator D5 monitors

Tech Mentor

Have you looked into the dn-x1600? It's Traktor certified so you don't need a NI soundcard. I have one and love it.

The difference between Traktor Pro and Scratch Pro is that Traktor Scratch Pro allows timecode control