USB cable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: USB cable

  1. #1
    Tech Mentor ohmydaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    287

    Default USB cable

    I want to replace mine for my fast track pro. I'm based in the UK so dont really want to pay to ship over the tech tools one, but any suggestions on what Icould go for that is good quality.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Lecko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England/Midlands
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Lindy do some high quality ones, I've got a couple

    http://www.lindy.co.uk/2m-premium-go...o-b/37652.html
    MacBook Pro 15" 2.0GHZ i7. Kontrol S4. Traktor Scratch Pro 2.5. MidiFighter Classic. Aiaiai TMA-1.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,187

    Default

    make sure it has at least one, better two ferrits.. otherwise they are all quite the same..
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Flash101uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    655

    Default

    they look nice! But im a skinflint and would not pay 20 for a USB cable.

    Did they magically decrease your latency to 1ms or anything?
    Ecler NUO 3.0, 2 1210mk2, midi fighter, Kontrol X1, Akai LPD8, Reloop RHP10's, TSP, Audio 8

    Howitzer on Soundcloud | Howitzer on Twitter | Howitzer on Facebook | Howitzer dnb blog

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Lecko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England/Midlands
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flash101uk View Post
    they look nice! But im a skinflint and would not pay 20 for a USB cable.

    Did they magically decrease your latency to 1ms or anything?
    Haha, I don't think they did

    But I get them at cost through works trade account, I only got the 1M ones though, think they 7 or 8 so wasn't as bad
    MacBook Pro 15" 2.0GHZ i7. Kontrol S4. Traktor Scratch Pro 2.5. MidiFighter Classic. Aiaiai TMA-1.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    I have a box full at home!



    Found em!....all 90 of em!
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Alex Wild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Default

    What difference does a 'better quality' USB cable make? Surely it either works, or it doesn't?
    Mixes: www.mixcloud.com/djalexwild/
    Production: www.soundcloud.com/alexwild
    DJM500 : X1 : MBP 15" 2.53 GHz 4 GB RAM : HD25SP : MASCHINE

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    714

    Default

    in theory yes in reality not at all, usb either works or it doesn't, any usb cable will do you can argue better shielding can help near big speakers to stop drop outs

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: USB cable

    Are ferrite beads only useful if the cable is transferring sound? Or would it cut out interference in general use as well? Sorry not very advanced.
    "My friend's cat's hairdresser's botanist told me so." -Newg

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Alex Wild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Default

    USB doesnt transfer sound, its a digital connection meaning it just send 1s and 0s.
    As far as I know digital connections either work, or they dont, so gold plating, and other fancy extras wont make a bit of difference. As for ferrites, I dont know much about them except they help stop interference which can stop drop outs. Ive never had any problems with the standard NI USB cables before and cant see any reason to upgrade.
    Mixes: www.mixcloud.com/djalexwild/
    Production: www.soundcloud.com/alexwild
    DJM500 : X1 : MBP 15" 2.53 GHz 4 GB RAM : HD25SP : MASCHINE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •