Windows xp or 7 on low end machine?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    10

    Default Windows xp or 7 on low end machine?

    Hi guys!

    So I have a question: I bought me some cheapo parts (sempron 145, 2gb ram, basic µatx board...). My question is: windows XP or 7. Considering that its a low end machine but will only be running traktor(together with maybe some recording app and mastering). I will strip my os down to the bare minimum so that it performs at it's best.

    Thanks in advance,

    djmad

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor DjZzeless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    216

    Default

    I would at least go with Win7.

  3. #3
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    win7 needs at least 4gb so i would go with XP in your case. xp is still a good os.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Garygary1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    xp, that sempron is going to have trouble with win 7

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    80

    Default

    XP.

    Mine runs prime for traktor!

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    yes i've been runing traktor for many years on xp, have been on 7 for a year now but defo +1 for xp
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Tech Guru dripstep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    my house in the great white north.
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    xp and traktor on mine too. Tried on 7 with only 2 gb and its much better on xp
    2 x gemini PT 1000 . Gemini PS-525 . X1
    NI Audio 6 . Traktor Scratch pro 2
    2007 Macbook Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by The Mighty FV View Post
    manners don't cost a thing dude - never forget that, it'll help you in all walks of life.

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks for the response, will install winXP...

    DJmad

  9. #9
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,610

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djmad View Post
    Thanks for the response, will install winXP...
    DJmad
    A stripped XP runs Traktor a treat - especially if it's a 'dedicated' machine. Read Smittten's posts on setting up. His tips are INVALUABLE.
    356 reasons why

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    Another vote for XP. Stripped down XP is a BEAST for audio on older machines.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •