Live Sets?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Live Sets?

  1. #1

    Default Live Sets?

    When playing a live set in a bar / club or whatever .. do you bring your controller with you ( in this forums sake probably most people own an s4 ) ... Or do you use the clubs equipment or do you have to? ( Hoping I will play a live set down the road ) ...I've just heard from a lot of people that some places don't like you or don't have enough room to accommodate a controller you bring ... And I dunno If I want to be learning how to use the s4 and then perfecting it and then finding out that I can't even use it when I need it the most, because in the end I want it to be more than a hobby and actually want to play in clubs / bars.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Alex Wild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Default

    This is why I sold my S4 and went back to using X1 and Audio2 through the clubs mixer. Suits me just fine!
    Mixes: www.mixcloud.com/djalexwild/
    Production: www.soundcloud.com/alexwild
    DJM500 : X1 : MBP 15" 2.53 GHz 4 GB RAM : HD25SP : MASCHINE

  3. #3
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Wild View Post
    This is why I sold my S4 and went back to using X1 and Audio2 through the clubs mixer. Suits me just fine!
    x1 + mixer
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    317

    Default

    X1 + TA6 + mixer :P

    Although what I actually do the most is burn CD's... Sometimes I'm not allowed to hook my own gear up... so I have to burn CD's...

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Alex Wild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Default

    Ive never not been allowed to hook my own stuff up. Does the manager just come up and say "sorry, dont touch the back of the mixer" I'd be pretty insulted if someone assumed I didnt know my way around back there.
    Mixes: www.mixcloud.com/djalexwild/
    Production: www.soundcloud.com/alexwild
    DJM500 : X1 : MBP 15" 2.53 GHz 4 GB RAM : HD25SP : MASCHINE

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    thats what i use @ kaek

    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor D.S.M.I.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    215

    Default

    I'm getting a xone:22, Audio 2 and a X1, seems that's a good way to go if I ever make into a club
    Allen&Heath Xone:22 - NI Kontrol X1 - Novation Launchpad - Akai LPD8 - Traktor Audio 2 DJ - Pioneer HDJ-1000/Klipsch S4i in-ear headphones - Traktor Pro 2 - Macbook Pro 13" 2011 (Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM)
    Soundcloud
    Facebook Fan Page

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester.NZ View Post
    thats what i use @ kaek
    I've been meaning to ask for a while but what part of NZ are you from?

    I'm from welly :P

    I normally use CDJ 1Kmk3 + DJM 700. Its a real, and I mean real fuss if I have to hook up my own gear. So as a backup I buy a bunch of CD's the previous day and just burn the tracks I have to play literally on the hour before I play.

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Blenheim. That pic is from Ashley Forest last weekend. Epic good times.
    slide the crane under a cdj, squeeze an x1 beside the mixer if possible and boom.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •