General Mixing...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default General Mixing...

Ok, so i'm fairly new to DJ'ing and I jumped straight into Traktor which I have a few questions on.

Atm it is only a bedroom hobby but will it be frowned upon (in your opinions) if I were to turn up at a gig with a laptop, soundcard and midi controller only? does it matter that I'm not beatmatching in the typical way of listening and instead using Traktor's visual aid to beatmatch? What to do if the laptop crashes during a gig?

And finally, does anyone have any particular mixing techniques they'd like to share? currently i'm just looping the end of one track, beatmatching the new one and then xfading over - seems a bit boring!

Tech Mentor

I had a lot of the same questions when I first started and the more I get into Traktor using the Sync functions the more I want to learn proper beat matching... my level of performance is not upto a stage where I can justify letting the sw do it for me because I have so much other stuff going on... ie controllerism

I recently stumbled upon this site http://www.recess.co.uk/index.html
    I recommend checking it out and learning the basics and foundations of DJ'ing first, this way you can know what to do no matter what... also always have a backup plan... eg some CD's for a CDJ setup, especially if its going to take a while to get your laptop setup all connected etc and you want to keep the flow of the music going...

I am trying to learn to beatmatch at the moment, its not easy and takes lots of practice, but apparently once you get it, its like riding a bike.. ie once you learn you never forget... (I hope)