Newbie!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie!

Default Newbie!

Hey guys, I'm a complete newbie to DJing so please bear with me. This is probably the most annoying question you could ever be asked but gosh darn it, I've used the search function and I can't find an answer!

Where does one start off when they want to learn to DJ?

- I've been playing around on Virtual DJ, learning how to smoothly transition from one song to another.
    - I've looked around for equipment, I'm thinking of buying the Numark N4. Is this a good idea?
    -I've started buying a lot more music, mostly remixes and I'm really expanding my music collection.

Besides doing all of this, I feel completely lost as to what I'm meant to be doing. Right now I feel like I'm just sitting at home playing around on VDJ. I know it takes a lot of time and hard work to even get the basics of DJing but I just don't know where to get started.

Thanks so much
    Mark

Tech Mentor

buy what you can afford, but spend as much as you can. tunes are always good. i'd try trakor or serato rather than virtual dj. I know dj's who use it in bars. but i think it ends up limiting you as a dj.
    2 x Technics 1210's (mk3's), Xone 62, Denon 3500, TSP2, Traktor Kontrol S4, Midifighter, Macbook pro

Tech Wizard

If you have a musical background dj'ing will come alot easier than if you dont. Playing around is part of the keys to learning, although you will be very limited until you get equipment ( one mouse click compared to the multitasking of 2 hands ), to be honest what sounds like a clean mix now 3 months from now wont sound so clean, and thats a good thing!