I just had an epiphany while mixing at this halloween party the other day

Default I just had an epiphany while mixing at this halloween party the other day

I've been doing this dj stuff for quite a few years now, did a few gigs there and there with great success; and on Halloween, my exgf asked me if I could dj at her party she was throwing at her home with lots of people. It ended up being a 50+ people event, which was neat.

Anyhow; during the event, people were asking for the typical top40 lmfao tracks, which are enjoyable and fun, but not my personal cup. I would mix them all together and people had a blast and after the party, i had people commenting on how good and fun it was bla bla bla.

Yet.. it was absolute fucking pain for me the entire time. During the evening, I realised that I was more into dj and mixing tracks more for the 'technical' (and by that I mean transition, smooth transitions, juggling loops, etc ) than 'entertaining people'. I kept looking at the clock in my traktor display the entire time, hoping for a quick evening so I could stop. It was that painful and boring to me. I kept talking to a bunch of people who were really impressed by my setup and wanted to look at the flashing lights, so at least time flew by.

I know that, as dj, we are suposed to entertain people and give them what they want to hear, but damn did I hit a wall heads-on on that night.. I really didnt enjoy myself at all! The morning after, I kept wondering if I should even keep doing this; and took a few days off mixing at home, just to clear my mind.

Still, last night I had a blast mixing for myself, doing all sorts of crazy effects so at least the passion is still there.. It just feels like I'm more into mixing for my own personal enjoyement of music and technical skills ..

Quote Originally Posted by Combo Breaker View Post
    It just feels like I'm more into mixing for my own personal enjoyement of music and technical skills ..