Screen Capture and such...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    130

    Default Screen Capture and such...

    My mission this weekend: finish tutorial videos for all my mappings and post for everyone to use.

    My speed bump: I'd like to use a program to capture video of my screen, my built-in iSight, and external (or built-in) microphone. It'd be SWEET if I could use effects such as magnifying in on certain areas of the screen during the recording, but I'd be alright doing it in post as well.

    Basically, I'd like to be able to produce videos similar to the more recent tutorials released by DJTT using Traktor side-by-side with a camera. And I'd like to do this as much LIVE as possible. (Never been a fan of post-editing with video :/ ) Thanks in advance!

    PS. I'm running Snow Leopard.
    17" MBP, TP2, X1, MF Classic (soon to be custom), Custom VCI-100, Oxygen 25, Guitar Hero Guitar (inspired by DJTT!), MBox 3 (overkill, but swapping to Audio2)

    Follow my Mod Projects and More on Facebook and Youtube

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Quiggers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Jing on PC is very good, I dont know if it is available in apple flavour.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,748

    Default

    not sure about some of the more advanced stuff…I think you'll have to do it in post, but Quick Time Player records screencasts on OS X. It's in the File menu on the Lion version of it…check and see if you can do it there.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    130

    Default

    I tried QuicktimeX, but it only does the screen OR the cam. I was hoping for both. :/ Camtwist doesn't record itself (does it?). Pretty sure it's just a middle source, but Quicktime doesn't have the ability to use other internal sources in ver.X?
    17" MBP, TP2, X1, MF Classic (soon to be custom), Custom VCI-100, Oxygen 25, Guitar Hero Guitar (inspired by DJTT!), MBox 3 (overkill, but swapping to Audio2)

    Follow my Mod Projects and More on Facebook and Youtube

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    You can use quicktimebroadcaster (free) to record http://www.apple.com/quicktime/broadcaster/ . It will sit on top of camtwist no problem-o.

    CamTwist is really awesome.

    PS: run quicktime streaming server locally - click record to disk and then broadcast. It will record and relay to the local quicktime streaming server[1] which you can either let sit idle or tune in from other computers in real time, etc.

    [1] http://dss.macosforge.org/
    Last edited by GeekGod; 11-11-2011 at 04:25 PM.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Let me know if you need help with the setup. DSS can be intimidating at first but its pretty easy.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Not as much intimidating as confusing (at least for someone who doesn't usually do a lot of network config....aka ME. haha)...I've got a good feed from camtwist into broadcaster, and I've got "Record to Disk" checked, but when I hit "Broadcast" I get the error of not being able to connect. Could you maybe give me some sample configurations for broadcaster/dss? Thanks.
    17" MBP, TP2, X1, MF Classic (soon to be custom), Custom VCI-100, Oxygen 25, Guitar Hero Guitar (inspired by DJTT!), MBox 3 (overkill, but swapping to Audio2)

    Follow my Mod Projects and More on Facebook and Youtube

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor DJWORX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    172

    Default

    Without question, Screenflow is what you want.

    http://www.telestream.net/screen-flow/

    It's also amazingly intuitive for putting videos together. I've used it for all the commercial videos I've made. Well worth the $99.

    DJWORX
    - The very best DJ gear news, reviews and opinion

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    I know back in the day when I was gaming, I used FRAPS.

    Worked really well for what it did.
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •