USB Headphones
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: USB Headphones

Tech Convert

Default USB Headphones

Hey all, I'm very new to producing music (started with FL last week, now learning Live) and was thinking about buying a Arturia 25 key Keyboard Controller I saw in a thread a few days ago. My only problem is the latency that I get when I'm using my actual usb keyboard. I want to be able to play on the MIDI Keyboard without any delay when I'm pressing they keys down, and a friend told me if my soundcard wasn't very good I could get a good set of USB Headphones that would make a big difference. Anyway, here are a few questions...

1.) Will a good usb headset give me lag free playing with said Keyboard Controller?
    2.) If so, what would a good one be?
    3.) If not, what should I do about it?

Thanks
    ~ K1K0
    Last edited by K1ng K0bra; 11-17-2011 at 01:20 PM.

Why would you like USB headphones? I'd suggest a decent sound card and headphones.

Ya I'm confused on this one

I have no idea how USB headphones could reduce latency but i wouldnt go that route anyways

Just grab Sony 7506's,sennheisers hd280/600, Google the subject and you will info. But the key to producing with headphones is knowing how each headphone replicates sound. Some headphones create a higher midrange or sound unnatural. So something may sound great in your headphones but completely a large system or any system.

I would change your question as to why you are getting latency

Give computer/keyboard specs. Might get you a better answer
    MPB - TP - TS Pro 2 - Audio 6 - Technics 1200mk2 - Xone 22 - xone53 - Kontrol X1 - Axiom 49 - M-audio C400

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

Yeah your headphones are not what's causing the latency it's your probably sound card. Give us more info on your set up.
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Tech Convert

Quote Originally Posted by Towner View Post
    Just grab Sony 7506's,sennheisers hd280/600