Ideas for spinning in lounges
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Ideas for spinning in lounges

I've got a new Saturday night residency at an upscale lounge. The instructions are "not too much hip hop or house". Of course when the crowd (25 - 40) gets there and starts drinking, they want hip hop, and request it. I'd just do more electronic music but as I mentioned earlier they don't want too much house (general term they use for electronic music). I play some rock and some classics but I'm having a hard time really getting the party started b/c my main weapons have been taken away (aka house/EDM and hip hop!).

What would you guys play? I've been dropping 80's/90's classics and stuff like Treasure Fingers "Cross The Dancefloor". I'm not really enjoying myself though as I don't really feel like I can really do my thing. I started playing a little too much vocal electro house the other night and the manager said the music was "too clubby". So I started playing top40 the rest of the night and ended up sounding like every other dj in town.

So...I'm looking for some music suggestions that fill the aforementioned criteria. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Serato Scratch Live 2.3 | SL3

Traktor Pro 2 | Audio 6, Audio 2

A&H Xone 02 | Technics SL-1200MK2

that doesn't sound like much fun man...if they aren't paying you much and you aren't enjoying yourself i would i would suggest seriously looking for somewhere else where you WILL enjoy yourself. If they are paying heaps then i guess you better suck it in lol. Good luck anyway man
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

Thanks. They're paying pretty good ($300 for 10pm - 2am).