FRIGGIN Itunes store!!!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    137

    Default FRIGGIN Itunes store!!!

    Hey guys, I have an issue. I purchased two songs from the itunes store, and it is not allowing me to import them into Serato. On the bottom it says could not import, quicktime is not installed.

    The files are .m4a

    What can I do to make these work in my Serato?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    i don't use serato. but it seems like pretty obvious that serato depends on quicktime. why else would it throw you this error message? so install it.

    additional info--until recently, on the windows platform, the itunes installer included quicktime. not anymore. so if you reinstalled your system and/or apple software recently, you might not have noticed that quicktime is missing.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    137

    Default

    its only for the two songs that I got off the itunes store though, everything else works fine.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ArmanB89 View Post
    its only for the two songs that I got off the itunes store though, everything else works fine.
    right. do you have AAC/.m4a files besides those two which play fine?

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Cybertrash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    631

    Default

    Are these files DRM protected? I'm fairly sure that you can't play DRM-protected files with DJ software.
    ___________________
    Quote Originally Posted by earl panda View Post
    iŽll quote you in 5 years and we both will have a good laugh while we are at this awsome dj battle on mars trying to finally beat the damned 1000 armed alien squid "dj squid master". his routines are sick!

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rgtb View Post
    right. do you have AAC/.m4a files besides those two which play fine?
    All my other tracks are .mp3 from beatport, so I do not have any other protected files.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertrash View Post
    Are these files DRM protected? I'm fairly sure that you can't play DRM-protected files with DJ software.

    I am unsure how do I find out if they are DRM protected?

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    ^^^ your answers strongly suggest that quicktime is not installed on your system (or the installation is corrupted).

    music bought from the itunes store isn't drm-ed unless you bought it years ago.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,490

    Default

    You could just convert them to mp3s right?

    If they are drm, burn them to a cd ten rip them from that...
    SC | MC

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Hmm I just re downloaded and re installed Quicktime from apple's website, and it still gives me the same error. How can I convert these files to MP3 without it effecting the tracks quality?

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    convert them to mp3 through itunes.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •