2 parallel setups for TSP2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default 2 parallel setups for TSP2

    Ok,

    Ordinarily at a gig I use TSP2 with an A8 and 2 decks, with my VCI100SE acting as a MIDI Mixer.

    Sometimes it's a utter PITA to fit that all in a booth if it's a wee bit on the small side, and it'd just be easier to use whatever the house mixer is, and have a pair of dicers for cue points etc

    I've got the first setup ready to go, but I really don't fancy having to hot swap a known good setup in a booth shortly before playing, to change all the soundcard routings so that the external mixer will work.

    Would it be as simple as having two copies of my Traktor settings folder? - one for the VCI100SE and one for the external mixer & dicers and then just rename them such that the one I want to use is 'settings' and the other is something else, I dunno, like Bob or whatever ...

    A little help?
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  2. #2
    Tech Guru bumtsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,178

    Default

    I suppose it'll be quicker to have two "traktor settings.tsi" files that you manually rename as needed before firing up Traktor.
    Haven't messed about with full tsi import yet so that's what I'd experiment with first.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bumtsch View Post
    I suppose it'll be quicker to have two "traktor settings.tsi" files that you manually rename as needed before firing up Traktor.
    Haven't messed about with full tsi import yet so that's what I'd experiment with first.
    Does the .tsi just cover the mappings you're using or the soundcard routings as well do you know?
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  4. #4
    Tech Guru bumtsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,178

    Default

    My tsi went bust recently and I had to restore from a backup, but I did compare them in a diff-like tool to see what had gone bad.
    This file has all the settings in it, including the audio right near the top. (easy to figure out - it's an xml-like syntax)

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor sparkbro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sherlock Ohms View Post
    Does the .tsi just cover the mappings you're using or the soundcard routings as well do you know?
    I'm pretty sure that it doesn't handle audio settings....
    “Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant." Mitchell Kapor
    Setup: TP2 - Vestax Typhoon - Korg NanoPad - Windows 7 x64 - Sony Vaio (Deceased) - Acer Aspire Timeline.
    House Parties - 2x12" Titan Audio PA's, 1xBehringer B1500D Sub

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    Just had a rummage and it looks pretty simple ... I'll have a play.
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  7. #7
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cologne/Germany
    Posts
    2,189

    Default

    i'm pretty sure you can write a small automator script to rename the files..
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weltraumpapst View Post
    i'm pretty sure you can write a small automator script to rename the files..
    tbh - I probably can't be arsed ... fat finger it in each time I need to change setups which probably ain't that often
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  9. #9

    Default

    @Sherlock Ohms:
    If you select 'audio settings' when exporting the .tsi, then yes it will cover your sound settings. I have two .tsi files prepped at all times; one for my audio 4 setup, and one for my default sound card/keyboard layout just in case something goes wrong...

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bmwnutfrombirth View Post
    @Sherlock Ohms:
    If you select 'audio settings' when exporting the .tsi, then yes it will cover your sound settings. I have two .tsi files prepped at all times; one for my audio 4 setup, and one for my default sound card/keyboard layout just in case something goes wrong...
    Ah, that might be a good option 3 - the "oh shit it's all gone wrong and none of my gear works" option
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •