Need good Musis production headphones help!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Need good Musis production headphones help!

Im a dubstep/electronica/etc music producer and need some good headphones

anyone can help?
    since its black friday, i need to get them now!

i had sony mdr-v6 but they were crap!

Get down to an electronics store, and try a load on. You need to weigh up comfort and sound quality.

There'll be different criteria for DJ phones and production phones (if you're gonna produce using headphones, that is???)

For production - you'l want really comfy phones. You'll soon know about it if you've worn uncomfortable phones for a couple of hours.

similarly, with DJ'ing, you'l want phones that don't clamp onto your head too hard. Although, you'll only be using them while cuing, so it's not so big an issue for DJ'ing. You'll also need to get WELL MADE, TOUGH phones for DJ'ing. The constant taking on and off, can take it's toll.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

the KRK KNS8400's are really good. Great for long term use and really clean crisp sound. Not overly expensive either. You definitely get a lot of headphone for your money with them.

hope it helps. check out some reviews on them
    DJ'n since 02', Performing since 06', CD's - Timecode - Full Digital - Digital and External Hardware Experience

Why not invest in some good studio monitors and a studio sub instead?

It's not a good idea to produce in headphones, also the sony mdr-v6 headphones are pretty decent for production, they just have a flat response which is what you want and you're probably used to headphones that boost the low end and color the sound.
    Last edited by Xonetacular; 11-25-2011 at 08:38 AM.

Tech Mentor