does it matter what CDJ's
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default does it matter what CDJ's

Normally i would search but CDJ is too short a phrase

gonna try to make this into a simple question

I've been doing mobile stuff and using my own gear but want to quit that and get into the clubs

Issue: I have never used a cdj before, always tt's or X1
    Im just going to grab a used pair

but dont think I need anything expensive

If im using traktor timecoded cd's and the x1
    Do I need really need a 800,850,900, 1000 etc?
    or should i just find the cheapest/best deal out there

I would assume the older models work basically the same.
    MPB - TP - TS Pro 2 - Audio 6 - Technics 1200mk2 - Xone 22 - xone53 - Kontrol X1 - Axiom 49 - M-audio C400

Different quality of jogwheels, more/less features.

Good jogwheels, 1000/2000
    Decent jogs, 400, 800mk2, 850, 900
    SHIT JOGS! 200, 350

(all in my experience)
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

perfect answer.
    thanks
    MPB - TP - TS Pro 2 - Audio 6 - Technics 1200mk2 - Xone 22 - xone53 - Kontrol X1 - Axiom 49 - M-audio C400

I'm in the same situation, switched to timecode and will change CDJs soon (got the 350 atm)
    I'm planning on buying the 850 (the new freshly released black model 850-k). I don't need all the 900/2000 features and screen cause i got an X1 just like you. I'll just go for 850 cause they have the same jog, and same size/ergonomy as the one i might find in clubs. That's all.

Any CDJ would work, but even with the 850 and the auto loop section that you won't use as CDJ is reading the timecode cd's bpm, remember that if you don't use the features on a regular basis, you still got the ability to, and that's a plus if you or someone else needs it one day, or if you want to sell it later

TL;DR : 850 or 850-k seems a good pick imo.