Question about the WMC and Marketing yourself?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Question about the WMC and Marketing yourself?

Hey all,

I'm at the point where I'm ready to start marketing my music and remixes. I've that the WMC is the best place to atleast go and hand big A&R's your stuff face to face. After going to the WMC's website I realized there is ALOT going on that week and idk where to begin.

Has anyone ever attended in hopes of markteing themselves or does anyone know any info on how to go about doing it whether at the WMC or elsewhere

thanks!

how much money do you have in a budget to spend on just advertising?
    (I have a lot of experience in marketing and advertising)(6years)
    Beatslicing for the bitches

Tech Mentor

well, thats a good question. i'm not really even sure how to go about marketing myself if I went to the WMC. I'm just a guy who wants to make music, be a social personality, and travel (though I wouldnt market myself like that lol).

But I guess I should ask is how much should I budget to be successful in marketing myself at the WMC or in general.

thanks for the help. With that many years of experience I'm very interested to hear what you have to say.

thanks!

Let me tell you where to not waste your money... don't hand DJs your CD mix when you see them DJing. I can't tell you how many of these were put into my hand while I was DJing at WMC. These are placed right in the garbage. Think about it, if you want to give something worth while to a DJ give him an unreleased track. Put money into making some sort of flyer or business card that can be handed to party goers and everyone really. Have all essential links listed.

As for what to give to an A&R rep, again a CD with unreleased music... NOT a CD of a mix you made. If you want to be on a label they want to hear your production skills, not how you DJ.