Ableton & VCI-100
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn We Go Hard!
    Posts
    832

    Default Ableton & VCI-100

    Hey guys,

    First off let me say hello to all!

    Secondly, I love ableton live for my House sets and was wondering if anyone has configured the VCI-100 for this specific use? I enjoy using DJDecks & traktor with my controller but lately I have the urge to return to Live. Any comments or suggestions are highly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    849

    Default

    The vci doesnt reeeaaally fit with ableton that well as the platters dont really fit with abletons control style. As far as I know there are really 2 options for using ableton with the vci.
    Either use Decadance (or some other VST) plug in for ableton and use the VCI's platters with that and all the effects n jazz from ableton on top of that.
    Second
    Run something like tractor and pipe the audio through ableton (using some other program - theres several - i think theres a tutorial on techtools somewhere about this?) for effects purposes and perhaps even for samples (you could send the timing / quant' info from tractor to ableton perhaps also).

    Thats the only real ways i know of to make full use of a VCI with ableton.

    Hope that helps.

  3. #3
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Yeah the VCI-100 and Ableton Live dont jive so great if you want direct control over whats playing with the jogs. I am currently writing a tutorial on how to use Traktor routed though Ableton live for windows that you might find interesting. Ean has kindly offered to post it on the blog so keep an eye out

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn We Go Hard!
    Posts
    832

    Default

    Will definitely be looking for that. I know the jogs are useless for song manipulation in live...I was wondering if I can make them into wheels like in the pioneer effects units. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    we will be releasing a Dj TT ableton vci-100 template in a few months. its gonna be cooool.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard The Duelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eangolde View Post
    we will be releasing a Dj TT ableton vci-100 template in a few months. its gonna be cooool.
    Great!!!
    Will There Be A Template To Incorporate The SE Firmware?

    The Duelist
    Last edited by The Duelist; 04-04-2008 at 03:52 PM.
    17" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz C2D | MacOS 10.6.2 (Snow Leopard)
    Traktor 1.2.4 | VCI-100SE v3.4
    Korg Zero8 | NI Audio8 DJ | Akai APC40 | KRK V8 Mk2 | Sony MDR-7506
    Novation Remote SL25MkII | Kore2 | Komplete6 | Virus TI
    Ableton Live8 (Suite) | Logic9 | Reason4 | Audio Hijack Pro

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn We Go Hard!
    Posts
    832

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eangolde View Post
    we will be releasing a Dj TT ableton vci-100 template in a few months. its gonna be cooool.
    Wonderful...looking forward to it.

  8. #8
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eangolde View Post
    we will be releasing a Dj TT ableton vci-100 template in a few months. its gonna be cooool.
    Neat, cant wait to play with it !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •