Controller or TT's
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Controller or TT's

So i just bought my first controller, the vci-100. I used the latest mapping with TP2 and ive been practicing for about 2 months now. I find that I'm missing certain features as i really like to loop and sample parts during my sets.

Im looking to make an upgrade to a 4ch set up, either another controller, the Kontrol S4 or TT's with timecode. From your experience in djing, what seems to be an ideal set up for you guys? I know style and genre has a lot to do with it, but over all what are some pro's and cons of using turntables over a well rounded controller such as the s4?

Tech Wizard

I would probably have to say the "ideal" set up is two cdj's and a quality 4 channel mixer, (in the usa pioneer shit is king) thats if you're looking to get into the club scene. Basically because that is what about 99% of clubs have standard, which means (for the average dj) less set up time/potential problems, etc.

Of course this kind of rig will cost you a pretty penny but you've asked for ideal... so there it is

Another option is getting a controller and tagging on two tt's (tech 12's) or cdjs if it allows for that... then you're set with both worlds but if you're spending that kinda money i'd personally be more inclined to buy a club standard, midi mappable 4 chan mixer but its up to u

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by pstokesy5 View Post
    I would probably have to say the "ideal" set up is two cdj's and a quality 4 channel mixer, (in the usa pioneer shit is king) thats if you're looking to get into the club scene. Basically because that is what about 99% of clubs have standard, which means (for the average dj) less set up time/potential problems, etc.

Of course this kind of rig will cost you a pretty penny but you've asked for ideal... so there it is