First gig coming up... Scared LOL
    Tech Convert

Default First gig coming up... Scared LOL

Sup guys, been lurking around these forums for a while now, but never signed up but anyway -

To make a long story short, I am from the metal scene, and I started producing dubstep about a year and a half ago, and I started to get a little bit of a solid presence in the filth circuit as a producer, and then it occurred to me that I would have to learn how to DJ if I ever wanted to perform what I write... so I started to practice with Virtual DJ and a bootleg P.O.S. Numark IDJ3 that I got off craigslist for 80 bucks. I've been using that thing for the last 8 months DJ'ing in my studio for a crowd of no one and got extremely comfortable with it.

Well... I got signed and then came the artist bookings... :eek::eek::eek:

So I have my first show coming up on the 29th at a club in downtown and it's sold out. I am one of 2 headliners with 3 opening acts, and I have some questions so I don't ruin my rep right out the gate...

I am pretty confident with my ability to DJ... I've never used a DJM-700 before... or CDJ's for that matter, but I got a MBP and a Rane SL4 so at least I still have my visual points of reference... and I am aware that SSL is a world apart from Virtual DJ but I have a lot of time in Itch so I'm not that worried about it. I plan on renting a CDJ set up for the week before the event so that I'll really be comfortable with it... at least enough to do K.I.S.S. transitions... its my first show lol.

I had a million questions geared up but of course I'm here and I can't think of any... the thing that is really bugging me is what do you do if an opener drops a song that you plan on using in like a live mashup, or some sort of pre-practiced routine that lasts 5 minutes? Is it okay to drop the song again?