Working on a VDJ Mapper for the midifighter - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,855

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by synthet1c View Post
    but really all i need is for someone put the midi fighter in 1 bank mode and use the miditrace program (link above), press the buttons in order of 1(bottom left) - 16(top right), and give me the results.
    i have time to help out today... if what u want right now is the notes sent out by the midifighter i have the info here:


    the format is add_grid_control(ROW, COL, MIDI-CHANNEL, "note", NOTE-NUMBER)

    led feedback is the same as the midi it sends out

    for the "hardware id's" i have this in my devices manager:

    USB\VID_2580&PID_0001&REV_0002&MI_00
    USB\VID_2580&PID_0001&MI_00
    couldn't find your link to miditrace but here's the raw output from pressing and releasing buttons one row at a time in normal mode, top to bottom, from my dump.exe:

    Code:
    NoteOn    C2 127     0x92 0x30 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   C2 127     0x82 0x30 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn   C#2 127     0x92 0x31 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff  C#2 127     0x82 0x31 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    D2 127     0x92 0x32 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   D2 127     0x82 0x32 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn   D#2 127     0x92 0x33 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff  D#2 127     0x82 0x33 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn   G#1 127     0x92 0x2c 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff  G#1 127     0x82 0x2c 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    A1 127     0x92 0x2d 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   A1 127     0x82 0x2d 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn   A#1 127     0x92 0x2e 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff  A#1 127     0x82 0x2e 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    B1 127     0x92 0x2f 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   B1 127     0x82 0x2f 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    E1 127     0x92 0x28 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   E1 127     0x82 0x28 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    F1 127     0x92 0x29 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   F1 127     0x82 0x29 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn   F#1 127     0x92 0x2a 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff  F#1 127     0x82 0x2a 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    G1 127     0x92 0x2b 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   G1 127     0x82 0x2b 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    C1 127     0x92 0x24 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   C1 127     0x82 0x24 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn   C#1 127     0x92 0x25 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff  C#1 127     0x82 0x25 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn    D1 127     0x92 0x26 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff   D1 127     0x82 0x26 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOn   D#1 127     0x92 0x27 0x7f  chan=3 
    NoteOff  D#1 127     0x82 0x27 0x7f  chan=3
    edit: you'll notice that my decode is an octave out from the official midifighter docs as they seem to use the (odd) traktor starting octave, which is one out of what most other apps seem to use. the raw is what you are intersted in i presume anyway
    Last edited by zestoi; 02-10-2012 at 01:14 AM.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  2. #12
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    You Sir are a gentleman and a scholar, that's exactly what I was after.... I sent you an email, I'll get this read for you on monday. or maybe on the train tonight.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  3. #13
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,855

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by synthet1c View Post
    You Sir are a gentleman and a scholar, that's exactly what I was after.... I sent you an email, I'll get this read for you on monday. or maybe on the train tonight.
    cool, glad it was the right info
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  4. #14
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Elkton, MD
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I will thank you both as this will benifit me as well.. Just let me know when its availiable and Ill grab both and play with them and get you some feed back as well. My Midi is delayed but I couldnt get mad once I read this

    I must apologize, but our supplier of PCBs has hung us out to dry with a big error in their shipment to us. Due to that fact, we are quite behind in getting these MF orders out. Expect yours to ship next week. My apologies.

  5. #15
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hey guys, im super interesting in this mapping, iv been working on basic mapping for my midi fighter but im struggleing a little bit, i was wondering if you guys could send me your mapping and any vst effects that i would need to run your mapping, i have some interesting ideas for things i would like to be able to do with the midi fighter so once iv had a play with your mapping i may be able to help work out some bugs and make some improvements.

    on a side note, does anyone know if you use recorded triggers with vdj... for example, if i played a sample on the 4th beat in the song and i want this sample to play on every 4th beat though the rest of song, does anyone know if this is possible and if so could you help me programme it into the midi fighter.

    thanks alot guys =]

  6. #16
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    I'm still working on one that uses only vst's, but I'm having trouble finding a suitable roll effect that works flawlessly.. If you have a vdj pro licence you can download the effects from the vdj forum (unfortunately I won't be giving these away due to the wishes of the creators of the plugins and atomix productions).

    I have a basic mapper that covers the masher, a 4 grat effects, slicer, couple of cues and transport that I made to work with both mac and pc that will be uploaded today. I am honestly just waiting for the masher and it will be finished with everything in the picture, but i'll quickly edit the one i'm uploading to virtualdj.com to loop instead of roll.

    The closest I have come is instajungle version 1, if you could download and report back on whether it works properly on a different system that would be very handy. In all my tests it will only work on deck 2 if deck 1 isn't loaded with a track...

    to make instajungle work turn it on and move the 1st slider past 50% to
    engage the roll, and slider 5 to change the roll size.

    On the side note... you cant do that natively as vdj doesn't have automation yet, but if you are good at computer coding in c++ you could make a plugin that retriggers anything you would want, as vdj has verb

    get beat_num 1 16 ? action if true : action if false

    which will only return true if on the first beat of each 4 bar section

    the other way around it is just to record a sample loop that is 16 beats long with silence where you want it, then just loop the sample
    Last edited by synthet1c; 02-22-2012 at 07:17 AM.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  7. #17
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Elkton, MD
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Uggggg. this day can not go fast enough... My MF is on the UPS truck for delivery, hope it makes it before I get off work. Then home to make the family mad while I ignore them all night and go into a zone with my new toy!!!!! LOL
    So if all goes well Ill have some feed back for you tomorrow.

  8. #18
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2

    Default

    this is my problem right now, i have a full liscenced version of traktor pro, and a LE lisence (with full vdj7) that i got w2ith my vestax typhoon, but because of how expensive vdj is compared to traktor i want to make sure it is able to perform as i want it before i invest.

    could you please give me the link for the basic mapper please, mostly so i can use it as a base to work from,

    thanks

  9. #19
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    did you try instajungle on your system?

    there are a million copies of it on the web (legit site is down)

    just place the dll in [user --> virtual dj --> plugins --> sound effects]

    I should mention it will only work on windows, you cant use vst's in vdj on OSX...

    ...but what specifically did you want vdj to do, it is capable of an enormous amount of things.
    Last edited by synthet1c; 02-22-2012 at 10:44 AM.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  10. #20
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,855

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gavin clover View Post
    this is my problem right now, i have a full liscenced version of traktor pro, and a LE lisence (with full vdj7) that i got w2ith my vestax typhoon, but because of how expensive vdj is compared to traktor i want to make sure it is able to perform as i want it before i invest.
    i'm in the same situation pretty much. own traktor pro 2 and the 'le' version of vdj that came with my hercules mk2. i do like the idea of buying vdj for all it's expandability potential - but the price seems pretty steep.

    i'd quite like to own a copy in addition to traktor - not instead of tho.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •