Another New Kid on the Block...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Another New Kid on the Block...

Help Out Fellow Mates.. I am just starting out

Target: I'm interested in mixing and scratching.

Budget: Don't want to exceed spending $500 (I understand I get what I pay for so I don't mind buying a used set if worth it)

Type of Music: Fusion, Techno, International, R&B Hip Hop

Software: Traktor (although I've never used b4 I've been reading that it suits best for fusion works)

So based on these thing what do you well experienced professionals advice?

In my mind I was thinking of getting a separate mixer and a separate turntable as I do want learn scratching too. But if you recommend to start off with a combo which includes everything...

what say guys... every bit of advice is greatly appreciated!

DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar

well, scratch license with a mixer and a pair of TTs sound like the winner but it exceeds your budget. I would keep on saving or buy the components one at a time. This would be a lot cheaper than buying something economic and upgrading later.

Tech Wizard

excuse my iq-norance ... scratch license with a mixer and a pair of TTs ?

Tech Wizard

one more question... during a random chat with friends .. one of them said scratching is so out of date.. Pro DJs don't scratch anymore? I did'nt agree with him because I said it's all about the feel and it's not out of date.

Quote Originally Posted by mrshan View Post
    one more question... during a random chat with friends .. one of them said scratching is so out of date.. Pro DJs don't scratch anymore? I did'nt agree with him because I said it's all about the feel and it's not out of date.
    your friend is an idiot.

and if you want Vinyl control, 500 dollars is way too low. You'll need to spend at least 1,000 to get a decent set up for that.

Tech Wizard

Thank you ... He is an IDIOT! hmmm.. if $500 is way low...