Trying to decide
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Trying to decide

Trying to decide what program to use for DJing. I've been using Traktor for probably 6 months now and recently tried bridging traktor and ableton but failed. Now I see people like Paul Van Dyk that strictly use Ableton to make Live mixes and I saw how many options there are with doing that. But I also saw that some people won't respect that fact that you aren't beat matching manually. I'm not sure anyone have any input on the subject?

About beatmatching debate, I would appreciate if we don't go through this for the 23th time this month.
    Seach old threads with keywords such as "sync;cdj; hate controllers; hate for digital" to have an idea of what do people think. Remember that people here are mostly digital DJs, hence tolerent about sync and stuff, since most of them are using it.

On the Ableton/Traktor, even if i'm sure it has been asked before, i would say it depends on what you want to do, how do you want to perform.

My opinion on that is that Ableton is a nice tool to perform with if you got your OWN tracks. That means you can have them disassembled. Bass, lead, drums, kick, vocals, everything separated. That allows you to really blend and recreate your tracks on the fly, as you feel it, and that's what awesome with ableton in my opinion. Not to mention Ableton Live supports VSTi, and it puts it to another level.
    If you don't produce, thus want to play tracks that are not yours, I feel a bit stupid to use Ableton. Push a button, no matter the tempo/bar/whatever and it will be synced. Push a fader up, bring the other down. Congratz you are a DJ. I'm a bit to sarcastic, but that's how I see it.

EDIT : I think this thread should be moved to the General section. It doesn't belong here, and there it will have a better exposure so that the OP gets more replies and opinions aside of my biased one.

Banned