XONE DB4 and Ableton Live
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default XONE DB4 and Ableton Live

Hey guys,

I'm very new to djing i did most of the time live music. but for 1 year im very into djing. i've started with traktor but then switched to ableton 'cause i use it for everything and i love it. recently i got a xone 4d running with ableton live but im thinking about buying a db4.

i've read a lot about the amazing usb routing and i have a question about this:
    in the manual is a describtion about send and return possibilities.

now i want to know if its possible to make for example 2 effect busses in ableton an send all my 4 signals from the mixer into that and get 4 individual effected signals back to eq and filter them in the mixer.

that would be truly amazing. because i love the possibilty in traktor to have just 2 effect blocks and send everything into it.

thx for your help.

regs
    adrian

p.s: sorry for my english. im a bloody german :-)

I'm not sure, I haven't tried routing like that but you can send just about any point in the signal chain on the mixer to an input in the soundcard.

I'm not sure exactly what you're asking, since you could just effect anything you want in ableton then send it to whatever channel you want on the mixer to EQ or whatever.

I have to say though, once you use the DB4 effects you will forget about any desire to use software FX. The DB4s effects engine sounds worlds better than anything in ableton or VSTs I've heard.

hey thx for the fast reply.

it's true i could just affect the signal before going into the db4. but my idea was to save cpu power and to be able to use maybe just one controller layer for all the desired effects. now i have to make mappings for every 4 channels.

i thinking about using the db4 effects in my productions because they sound amazing but i think there are plenty of other vst's that are good for live experimantation.

anyone whos interested in my xone 4d ? :-P

Quote Originally Posted by addi307 View Post