DDJ S1 vs Kontrol S2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default DDJ S1 vs Kontrol S2

Hi! I'm new in the controler world..
    I just sold my old setup (cdj 100 + ecler nuo 2.0) because i was tired to burn cd at my place.. So i'm looking for a controler. My first choice was the Pioneer DDJ S1 because it look like similar of a real setup of cdj. But, when i was at the shop, i saw the kontrol s2, who's like 350 bucks cheaper! So now im really confused. Both will do the same job, i'm not looping and doing effect of whatever, i'm just mixing drum and bass, so i dont really care about fx box, looping, etc.
    So, which one will be the better choice? The ddj who's look like similar of a real setup in club? Or the cheaper? The S2. But who's not like cdj or whatever..
    I'm not planing to bring the controler at a gig or whatever, its just for my place.. to save cd burning!

Thanks a lot!

I don't know what would be better for you, but I have an s4 and I think the s2 is about the same setup just with 1:1 2 deck control rather than 1:1 4 deck control...I really like my s4, it's a quality build, the faders and knobs feel right, can't really speak on the jogwheel feel as I don't do much with them, as far as mixing drum and bass goes, I really like it, the effect section in traktor really has some nice rhythmic effects (beatsmasher, gaters, delays, beatslicer) that really are nice with drum and bass...I haven't really heard much about the ddj s1 around here, just seems to be pioneer's entry into the controller market... it's expensive but like most pioneer equipment you really pay for the namebranding. not to say it's bad.

Just my 2 cents

mike
    My Soundcloud: Bigheadmike

Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    The whole DJ scene has been built on the backbones of people losing their warranty.
    Quote Originally Posted by Flash101uk View Post
    Mixing is a lot like farting. If you have to force it, its probably shit!

Do you like Itch or Traktor?