Soundproofing NYC Apartment
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Soundproofing NYC Apartment

yo yo,
    Is it possible to 100% soundproof a NYC apartment? The walls aren't very thick, and if i turn the music up on my stereo system someone will be knocking on my down. They don't seem to be a fan of dubstep as much as i am. :/ . I live on the upper west side in a building that is fairly old. The walls are plaster. I need to start taking music seriously and need somewhere to really produce.
    THANKS.
    Jed

I'm no expert but probably not within any reasonable budget. If you want sound isolation that's thicker walls, extra layers of sheetrock, and better insulation and is more of a construction thing.

When I was moving I was sure to move into a new building with concrete walls between apartments. Never had a complaint and I blast stuff all the time and have subwoofers. Can't really fix building problems.

It kinds of amazes me and I often wonder if my neighbors actually hear it and are too passive to say anything and are just secretly getting resentful.
    Last edited by Xonetacular; 01-14-2012 at 07:04 PM.

Jester's Solution: Move To New Zealand
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

Quote Originally Posted by jedkleb View Post
    yo yo,
    Is it possible to 100% soundproof a NYC apartment? The walls aren't very thick, and if i turn the music up on my stereo system someone will be knocking on my down. They don't seem to be a fan of dubstep as much as i am. :/ . I live on the upper west side in a building that is fairly old. The walls are plaster. I need to start taking music seriously and need somewhere to really produce.
    THANKS.
    Jed