Xone dx or 4trak for mixing?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Xone dx or 4trak for mixing?

Hi guys, I just wanted to ask you for advice about which controller to buy.

I'm kind of new to digital DJing, so I'm not really sure about which controller to buy. I really like mixing rather than scratching and I'm used to high quality equipment, so I don't really want to buy "a toy" instead of a rugged controller.

I was considering the xd and the 4trax because they seem to be built to last forever - they've got almost no plastic in their construction and DO have high quality components. I personally don't like the mc-6000 not only for being plastic but also for not having a good soundcard. As far as I've read the pionners have also quality issues, which I really don't like.

Another option could be the S4, I've heard good comments about it, but I don't really know if it REALLY suits me.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D

There's a $500 difference in the price ....

The DX is a really REALLY nice piece of kit, with build quality on Par with a Xone42, and if your budget was $700 i'd say not much better out there, but given your budgeting $1000 - 1200 you could try to pick up a 4D which seems to be hitting the same price point these days (according to other members) as the 4trak.

Benefit wise its got a Traktor certified sound card as well a gorgeous fully analogue mixer and lots more knobs / faders etc for control in a smaller package than the 4Trak

Tech Mentor

How important are the platters to you? What about portability?

Tech Mentor

Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    Benefit wise its got a Traktor certified sound card as well a gorgeous fully analogue mixer and lots more knobs / faders etc for control in a smaller package than the 4Trak
    The Xone 4D does?

I just asked this in another thread.... it virtually a Xone 92 with two 1D's on either side, right?