Anyone build a hackintosh for music related stuff?
Page 1 of 18 1234511 ... LastLast

Default Anyone build a hackintosh for music related stuff?

I was debating building a new desktop since mine is older and meomory/cpu go through the roof if I have too many VSTs open or kits loaded into maschine and it doesn't even really make sense to dump any money into this thing.

I have no experience with building hackintoshes and it seems like they can be a pain in the ass but promising with good planning and buying the right parts there may not be any issues. Windows is also really starting to annoy me so the prospect of building a $5000 mac pro for $1000 is very appealing.

I just wonder would there be any particular issues with building a hackintosh for music related stuff? I mean I think the hardware restrictions would only apply to system components right? Once all the drivers work on the desktop could there be any unforseen issues with software, soundcards, midi controllers, and other basic studio devices?

Tech Mentor

I've been thinking about doing the same thing forever...

Yeah, I mean I'm sure there would probably be issues with really fancy studio hardware and audio interfaces but I'm just wondering for basic USB stuff. I saw some people even had apogee cards working but I wouldn't try it.
    Last edited by Xonetacular; 01-29-2012 at 03:11 PM.

I think this topic is generally frowned upon here but I've looked into the same thing as well
    Some digging on google would get you started and the route you seem to want to go is much easier than a laptop.

Quote Originally Posted by space monkey View Post
    I think this topic is generally frowned upon here but I've looked into the same thing as well
    Some digging on google would get you started and the route you seem to want to go is much easier than a laptop.