Noob here, help me out?
    Tech Convert

Default Noob here, help me out?

Hey guys,

So I'm really new to this whole world, i have lately been really into different house/dubstep beats. So I decided to try and make my own, I went ahead and downloaded a trial of Ableton. Now this is some serious stuff, and I've been watching some tutorials and such. Im learning but slowly.

I wouldn't mind getting some dj ing equip sometime down the line. But ATM I'm really interested in producing my own music or beats. But if I did want to start of s2 is the way to go based on what I've read?

I guess I'm wondering is Ableton all I need atm, or do I have to get some type of hardware etc.. If so what kind??

Sorry for the beginner question, I did search b4 I posted but its kind of confusing. Anyway any help would be great. Thanks in advance.

Tech Mentor

Welcome!

If your goal is to create music and you do not know anything about music production, Ableton Live intro is all that you need (A good trackball mouse and learning the keyboard shortcuts is what can give you the fastest workflow). A sound card and monitors will help later but frankly at this point just take time to understand how create simple drum patterns in the piano roll.

Regarding hardware - your second investment must be a soundcard (e.g. Used Apogee Duet 1 or NI Audio Kontrol 1 etc..) and a decent pair of headphones (AKG-BeyerDynamic DT770-880) or better studio monitors but in a treated environment. Then, If you do know how to play keyboards - buy a midi keyboard (more than 25 keys if you plan to play chords), if not, learn a bit about music theory (Scales and Intervals) and just program in Live Piano roll.

You do not need an APC 40, a Launchpad or ... If you do not plan to play live. Ableton is deep, very deep. Just learn the general principles - look for Tarekith tutorials, he is a member here and wrote excellent articles about the different aspects (Compression, Mix-down etc.)